We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.co.uk/access.
 >   > 
The Mountain Can Wait Audiobook

The Mountain Can Wait

Regular Price:£19.99
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • £7.99/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

For fans of Brokeback Mountain and Legend of a Suicide, a story of a father's attempt to save his wayward son.

Set in a stunning but scarred Canadian landscape, The Mountain Can Wait is a story of fathers and sons and the heartache they cause each other, in the tradition of Annie Proulx. Tom Berry has always been a loner, a man content to live out his days in the wilderness with just enough ammunition and kerosene to last out the winter. A single father, he has raised his children with the same quiet and absolute dedication he brings to his forestry business, but now he's discovering that might not have been enough.

When his son, Curtis, on the brink of adulthood, disappears after a tragic accident, it falls to Tom, the hunter, to track him down. Whether he can truly reach Curtis is another matter.

©2015 Sarah Leipciger (P)2015 Hachette Audio

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

3.9 (9 )
5 star
 (3)
4 star
 (2)
3 star
 (4)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (0)
Overall
4.0 (9 )
5 star
 (3)
4 star
 (3)
3 star
 (3)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (0)
Story
4.1 (9 )
5 star
 (3)
4 star
 (4)
3 star
 (2)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (0)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    londonbikerider 18/06/2015 Member Since 2010
    HELPFUL VOTES
    7
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    24
    4
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Beautifully torturous"

    Maybe I can relate so much to this as a father but the characters are just fantastic and the setting is stunning. The book transports the reader into a simpler world of hard graft in rough Canadian outdoors. Tragic circumstance leads to difficult questions on morality and complex relationships within family. Loved it from start to finish and looking forward to more from this incredibly talented new author

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Bill Carr 16/03/2016
    Bill Carr 16/03/2016 Member Since 2015
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    1
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Superb"

    A gripping meditation on fatherhood, fate and the call of the wilderness. a fantastic debut novel. Comparisons to Margaret Atwood are fully justified.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.