We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.co.uk/access.
The Missing Wife Audiobook

The Missing Wife

Regular Price:£19.99
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • £7.99/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

Fans of Marian Keyes, Lisa Jewell and Santa Montefiore will love Sunday Times best-selling author Sheila O'Flanagan's The Missing Wife.

Have you ever wanted to disappear?

When Imogen Naughton vanishes, everyone who knows her is shocked. She has a perfect marriage. Her handsome husband treats her like a princess. She's always said how lucky she is. So why has she left? And how will she survive without Vince?

What goes on behind closed doors is often a surprise, and Imogen surprises herself by taking the leap she knows she must. But as she begins her journey to find the woman she once was, Imogen's past is right behind her....

Will it catch up with her? And will she be ready to face it if it does?

©2016 Sheila O'Flanagan (P)2016 Headline Digital

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.2 (233 )
5 star
 (117)
4 star
 (74)
3 star
 (30)
2 star
 (7)
1 star
 (5)
Overall
4.2 (216 )
5 star
 (104)
4 star
 (64)
3 star
 (36)
2 star
 (7)
1 star
 (5)
Story
4.4 (217 )
5 star
 (126)
4 star
 (63)
3 star
 (17)
2 star
 (9)
1 star
 (2)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Julie 02/09/2016
    Julie 02/09/2016 Member Since 2015
    HELPFUL VOTES
    5
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    5
    4
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Fantastic"

    This was an amazing story. Anyone who has been in a relationship like Imogen will be amazed by the accuracy of the dread and it was written so well, makes me think the author may have been or knows someone close who has experienced this. I couldn't put it down!!! Great, definitely the best Sheila oflanagan book I have read....

    5 of 5 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Jill Besterman Jersey, Channel Islands United Kingdom 05/07/2016
    Jill Besterman Jersey, Channel Islands United Kingdom 05/07/2016 Member Since 2005
    HELPFUL VOTES
    245
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    752
    92
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    57
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Sheila O'Flanagan, back to near her best"
    Any additional comments?

    I did not enjoy the previous couple of books by this author but The Missing Wife is a big improvement on them. Trapped in an increasingly loveless marriage with a controlling husband Imogen fears that her only option is to disappear before he finally manages to reduce her confidence to zero and the only place that she thinks might be safe is the Basque area of France where she was happy as a child. We follow her as she tries to re-establish herself as an individual, managing to find work and a place to live whilst relishing the beauty of the area and the people she meets, some new and some old friends. Meanwhile we also get an insight into the mind of her husband, the unpleasant Vince, as he tries to find out where she is, fully intending to "punish" her for humiliating him in such a manner.

    4 of 4 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Gwyneth Palma de Mallorca 22/08/2016
    Gwyneth Palma de Mallorca 22/08/2016 Member Since 2017

    retired active 60 year old living in Mallorca

    HELPFUL VOTES
    77
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    53
    36
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    1
    2
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "The manipulative husband"
    Would you consider the audio edition of The Missing Wife to be better than the print version?

    No idea never read it but I always think of audio books as a play not a book, wonderful invention.


    What other book might you compare The Missing Wife to, and why?

    Blimey, A place to call home. Carol Mathews


    Which character – as performed by Aoife McMahon – was your favourite?

    Honor


    Was this a book you wanted to listen to all in one sitting?

    I didn't but I could easily have done so


    Any additional comments?

    Veronica Henry, love her books and Aoife McMahon read beautifully.

    3 of 3 people found this review helpful
  •  
    sue 31/07/2016
    sue 31/07/2016
    HELPFUL VOTES
    2
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    2
    1
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "fabulous book."


    really enjoyed this book, I will definitely read another of her books. very good story wanted to keep reading top book.

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Miss 09/10/2016
    Miss 09/10/2016 Member Since 2015
    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    7
    3
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Brilliant"

    Great story would definately recommend would buy from this author again truly excellent 5* to her

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    P M. Gregory 06/10/2016
    P M. Gregory 06/10/2016
    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    1
    1
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Excellent"

    Really enjoyable, kept guessing right to the end. I couldn't wait for the husband to get his comeuppance.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Doodly Di U.K 30/07/2016
    Doodly Di U.K 30/07/2016
    HELPFUL VOTES
    2
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    1
    1
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "my first ever audible"

    This book was quite expensive at £13 but it was my first one ever. At that price I won't be doing another one until my next relaxing holiday. I did enjoy being able to be a part of the story whilst in the bath and also in the car. Both times are normally not possible for me, so it was a nice experience. I really enjoyed the story too.

    2 of 3 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Amazon Customer 17/06/2017 Member Since 2017
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    3
    2
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "A bit dull"

    I found the overall story a little bit boring and slow paced. The main characters lacked much depth. I love the narration and thought that the accents were brilliant.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Sharon Leverick 31/05/2017 Member Since 2016

    Verging on late middle aged. Like sagas with good stories and happy ending! Like those set in Asia or Australia (Bryce Courtenay especially)

    HELPFUL VOTES
    2
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    11
    4
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Not the only thing missing!"
    Would you try another book written by Sheila O'Flanagan or narrated by Aoife McMahon?

    Have tried several by both. Enjoyed them more


    What was your reaction to the ending? (No spoilers please!)

    I cannot believe how naive and stupid the heroine is depicted as. She gives intelligent and worldwise women a bad name. Where were the twists and turns? Good writing concept but badly executed.


    Which character – as performed by Aoife McMahon – was your favourite?

    None in particular


    Do you think The Missing Wife needs a follow-up book? Why or why not?

    God forbid!


    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Love audio 28/05/2017
    Love audio 28/05/2017 Member Since 2014

    I love my audio, as a child Jackanory was my favourite. these days I have detail work and my eye get too tired to read books:-(.

    HELPFUL VOTES
    14
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    58
    17
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "The Missing wife"

    It's always hard to find another book after a great one, but this one was just that great listen and has left me wanting more!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.