We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.co.uk/access.
The Great Village Show Audiobook

The Great Village Show

Regular Price:£11.99
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • £7.99/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

The warm and witty new novel from Alexandra Brown, best-selling author of The Great Christmas Knit Off. Perfect for fans of Jenny Colgan and Carole Matthews.

Tindledale is in a tizzy.... The Village Show competition is coming around again, and after last year's spectacular failure the villagers are determined to win. Meg, teacher at the local school, is keen to help and to impose some much-needed order.

After a terse encounter with a newcomer to the village, Meg discovers that it is celebrity chef and culinary bad boy Dan Wright. Meg thinks he is arrogant and rude, but rumour has it that Dan is opening a new restaurant in the village, which could really put Tindledale on the map.

As things come together, villagers old and new all start to come out of the woodwork, including new arrival Jessie, who seems to have it all. But first impressions can be deceptive, and Meg discovers that when it comes to Tindledale - and Dan - nothing is ever quite as it seems....

©2015 Alexandra Brown (P)2015 HarperCollins Publishers Limited

What the Critics Say

Praise for Alexandra Brown: "Adorable, comical and magical, this is a festive delight." (Closer)
"We love it!" (Now)
"Defies the chick lit cliché." (Heat)
"I loved Cupcakes At Carrington's, a warm, witty, loveable read with plenty of sparkle and charm." (Rowan Coleman)
"A sparkling debut...funny, romantic and utterly charming. Devour in one sitting like a delicious, indulgent cupcake then go back and start again." (Sasha Wagstaff)
"From the moment I read the first page of Alexandra's book, I knew I was being allowed to see something special. I believe that Alexandra has created a very real and likeable cast of characters that will appeal to a wide audience. Her writing style is crisp and funny and compels you to keep turning the page." (Chrissie Manby)
"Cupcakes at Carrington's is deliciously delightful from start to finish, sprinkled with magic and full of heart." (Miranda Dickinson)

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

3.9 (38 )
5 star
 (17)
4 star
 (8)
3 star
 (8)
2 star
 (3)
1 star
 (2)
Overall
3.8 (30 )
5 star
 (12)
4 star
 (7)
3 star
 (6)
2 star
 (3)
1 star
 (2)
Story
4.2 (30 )
5 star
 (15)
4 star
 (9)
3 star
 (5)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (1)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Fabulous Book Fiend England 29/08/2015
    Fabulous Book Fiend England 29/08/2015 Member Since 2016
    HELPFUL VOTES
    70
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    43
    35
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    8
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "A sweet little story"

    Review: ok so I have to state firstly that I didn't realise this was a sequel to The Great Christmas Knit-Off, which I love and secondly, I really didn't enjoy this one as much as the first book. I loved resisting Tindledale and catching up with all the characters, I was pleased to find out that the village spirit was still strong, but I just felt like there wasn't as much happening to excite me in this novel.

    Character-wise, I love that fact that the main protagonist in this sorry was a head teacher, I could really tell that, either Alexandra Brown has worked as a teacher herself, or else she has done some very good research because all of the teaching details are accurate. There was one tiny detail that only a teacher could pick up on and that was the fact that the head teacher of a school took her cross-stitch into school incase she had a any time at lunch time to do it, this seriously wouldn't happen. I knowi haven't worked in this particular tiny school with only 49 pupils, but headteachers just don't have time for lunch let alone cross stich at lunch, but it was nice reading about somebody that was so relatable to myself and to a lot of other readers, I'm sure as she has a grown up son who has gone off to uni leaving an empty nest!

    The idea of the village show was a lovely one and I really enjoyed finding out about the history of the village show in Tindledale, because of course many of the residents there will remember the village show in its hay day and so I thought this part was very well written and interesting too. But aside from some dramas with food and with protestors, I didn't feel that a lot really happened. Of course there is a love story too, but again, I felt that this wasn't as much as I was expecting it to be.

    Overall this was an enjoyable read, one that I actually listened to on audiobook in one sitting and lovely story for summer, but I would have loved a little more to happen and Tindledale to be the buzz of excitement that it was during the knit-off!

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Lorraine 06/08/2015
    Lorraine 06/08/2015 Member Since 2014
    HELPFUL VOTES
    26
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    171
    7
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Great fun"

    I want to move there now :-) Highly recommended if you want to be entertained and charmed!

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    jennifer seabourne-chennell 04/12/2016
    HELPFUL VOTES
    3
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    107
    13
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "mediocre"

    if your looking for a run of the mill romance novel go for it.. I found the story horribly predictable, the dialogue often childish but perfect for those occasions when full concentration not possible as you could and in my case did miss great chunks without needing to rewind as it doesn't matter

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Ms simplydeb uk 01/12/2016
    Ms simplydeb uk 01/12/2016 Member Since 2014

    twinnies

    HELPFUL VOTES
    3
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    10
    7
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    1
    0
    Overall
    "Really enjoyed it"

    Got this book after purchasing another one about this village it kind of carries on a little bit. I really liked the characters and Had a good storyline. Narrators are important to me and I especially like Gabriele's voice.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Carys 28/05/2016
    Carys 28/05/2016 Member Since 2014
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    12
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Made me cringe"

    Apologies to the author, I'm sure you're a lovely person but this novel was so unbelievably predictable and shallow it made for uncomfortable listening at times.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.