We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.co.uk/access.
The Finding of Martha Lost Audiobook

The Finding of Martha Lost

Regular Price:£14.99
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • £7.99/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

Martha is lost. She's been lost since she was a baby, abandoned in a suitcase on the train from Paris. Ever since, she's waited in the station's lost property for someone to claim her. It's been 16 years, but she's still hopeful.

In the meantime, there are mysteries to solve: secret tunnels under the station, a suitcase that may have belonged to the Beatles, the Roman soldier who appears at the same time every day with his packed lunch. Not to mention the stuffed monkey that someone keeps misplacing. But there is one mystery Martha cannot solve. And now the authorities have found out about the girl in lost property.

Time is running out - if Martha can't discover who she really is, she will lose everything....

©2016 Caroline Wallace (P)2016 Audible, Ltd

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.2 (83 )
5 star
 (41)
4 star
 (23)
3 star
 (15)
2 star
 (2)
1 star
 (2)
Overall
4.2 (76 )
5 star
 (36)
4 star
 (24)
3 star
 (12)
2 star
 (2)
1 star
 (2)
Story
4.5 (77 )
5 star
 (50)
4 star
 (21)
3 star
 (4)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (2)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Sarah St Martins, United Kingdom 11/07/2016
    Sarah St Martins, United Kingdom 11/07/2016 Member Since 2010
    HELPFUL VOTES
    10
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    112
    13
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Relentlessly frustrating."
    Would you say that listening to this book was time well-spent? Why or why not?

    I stuck with this to the bitter end hoping it would end with the interest it initally started with. Sadly, I didn't find this as enjoyable as other readers seem to have done.


    What was most disappointing about Caroline Wallace’s story?

    The constant repetitive phrases really began to grate on my nerves...so much I found myself actually talking out loud, begging the reader to wander off-script. I'm afraid the sections detailing the life of Mal and The Beatles felt like a poor attempt to crowbar the author's research into the text. The end was entirely predictable.


    What does Katy Sobey bring to the story that you wouldn’t experience if you had only read the book?

    I think she did fair job. She portrayed Martha very well. Not so well with Max - the Ozzie accent dipped in and out.


    If this book were a film would you go see it?

    No


    Any additional comments?

    It's rare I come across a book with such good reviews and then find myself disappointed but occasionally I don't get it and this is one of those times.

    5 of 5 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Amazon Customer Telford, United Kingdom 05/04/2016
    Amazon Customer Telford, United Kingdom 05/04/2016 Member Since 2015
    HELPFUL VOTES
    22
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    41
    14
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "A very moving story"

    A Beautifully narrated, wonderful story with amazing images. I think I may have even cried.

    4 of 4 people found this review helpful
  •  
    KateS Swindon, Wiltshire United Kingdom 22/03/2016
    KateS Swindon, Wiltshire United Kingdom 22/03/2016
    HELPFUL VOTES
    5
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    1
    1
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "I got this to last a month; I didn't turn it off!"

    A beautiful fairytale of innocence, love, friendship and violence, wonderfully read in Martha's true voice.

    5 of 5 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Julie Westcliff, Essex, United Kingdom 19/04/2016
    Julie Westcliff, Essex, United Kingdom 19/04/2016
    HELPFUL VOTES
    36
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    79
    30
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Loved Martha"

    This book is written from Matha's viewpoint and the author does it beautifully. The phrasing was lovely.
    So as not to spoil the story I'll just say that I don't see the point of some elements as they don't really add anything but padding but not enough to be detrimental.

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful
  •  
    barbara angmering, United Kingdom 11/04/2016
    barbara angmering, United Kingdom 11/04/2016 Member Since 2012
    HELPFUL VOTES
    11
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    39
    12
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Unusual & enjoyable ."

    A very enjoyable listen . A mystery with many turns ..

    I would recommend this as a quirky mystery .

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Amazon Customer Scotland 27/10/2016
    Amazon Customer Scotland 27/10/2016 Member Since 2014
    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    14
    9
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Charming narrative - lovely modern fairytale"

    I enjoyed every aspect of this book. Wonderful narrative and a story told in exquisite detail. The story of Martha, the innocent child and the world she inhabits is captivating and the narration first class.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Jill Parker 10/10/2016
    Jill Parker 10/10/2016
    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    21
    6
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Absolutely absorbing brilliant"
    Where does The Finding of Martha Lost rank among all the audiobooks you’ve listened to so far?

    I could not stop listening, I was totally transported to Martha's world character's are so believable, narrator is brilliant and brings everything to life


    What did you like best about this story?

    The characters and the unusual storyline


    Have you listened to any of Katy Sobey’s other performances? How does this one compare?

    No but will definitely be looking out for her


    Was this a book you wanted to listen to all in one sitting?

    Absolutely Absolutely Absolutely


    Any additional comments?

    Recommended listen but not when you're short of time as it will hook you in!!!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Amanda Toguri 25/06/2016
    Amanda Toguri 25/06/2016 Member Since 2014
    HELPFUL VOTES
    5
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    25
    11
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Loved it! Easy read from start to finish."

    Great performance for a truly entertaining story. Darkly comedic with wonderful characters you really got to know and care about.

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Wild Strawberry 30/09/2016
    HELPFUL VOTES
    2
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    4
    4
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "What absolute rubbish !"
    Would you try another book written by Caroline Wallace or narrated by Katy Sobey?

    no


    Has The Finding of Martha Lost put you off other books in this genre?

    yes


    What didn’t you like about Katy Sobey’s performance?

    Probably a very good narrator, just had an awful story line to work with


    What character would you cut from The Finding of Martha Lost?

    Them all, can't understand how this was ever published.


    Any additional comments?

    Bought this book as part of buy one get one free, or it would have been returned.

    1 of 4 people found this review helpful
Sort by:
  • Margaret
    San Francisco, CA USA
    27/03/16
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Magic in Liverpool"

    This book is a charming fairy tale, but slow going. There isn't much of a sense of urgency though the story has a ticking clock (Martha may be evicted); the threat is just ignored most of the time. Instead, the author focuses exhaustively on the characters' quirks and there are a lot of them. Fans of Sarah Addison Allen or Julia Stuart will enjoy, I think.

    Narration is top notch.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  • Lynn Lipp
    26/03/16
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Wish they were all this good!"

    I grew up in London with an English mother and American father. I've been living in USA for 38 years. Although I've never been to Liverpool, I could relate to the characters and the story and enjoyed the unique mix of Beatles history, abandoned child looking for her mother and the tramp living in the train station.

    Loved the narration and hope to read more from the author and listen to more by the narrator.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.