We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.co.uk/access.
The Cruellest Game Audiobook

The Cruellest Game

Regular Price:£21.99
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • £7.99/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

An unnerving psychological thriller from the best-selling author of The Cruelty of Morning. Perfect for fans of Nicci French and Sophie Hannah.

The lie was just the begnning.... Marion Anderton lives the perfect life. She has a beautiful home, a handsome and loving husband, and an intelligent and caring son. But as easily as perfect lives are built, they can also be demolished. When tragedy strikes at the heart of her family, Marion finds herself in the middle of a nightmare, with no sign of waking-up. The life she treasured is disintegrating before her very eyes, but it's just the beginning of something much worse and altogether more deadly....

©2013 Hilary Bonner (P)2014 Pan Macmillan Publishers Ltd

What the Critics Say

"A gripping story set in Devon with a final, unexpected, twist." (Country Life)

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

3.7 (37 )
5 star
 (13)
4 star
 (9)
3 star
 (8)
2 star
 (5)
1 star
 (2)
Overall
3.5 (33 )
5 star
 (12)
4 star
 (6)
3 star
 (6)
2 star
 (6)
1 star
 (3)
Story
3.7 (33 )
5 star
 (11)
4 star
 (9)
3 star
 (7)
2 star
 (4)
1 star
 (2)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Libertine78 06/08/2014
    Libertine78 06/08/2014 Member Since 2016
    HELPFUL VOTES
    2
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    3
    1
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Disappointing"
    Any additional comments?

    I bought this based on reviews on other Hilary Bonner novels.
    It was boringly slow and the story line is full of holes. I regret wasting a credit on it.

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful
  •  
    mialee 30/11/2014
    mialee 30/11/2014 Member Since 2010
    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    6
    5
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Ok listen but dragged on and gaping plot holes"
    Would you try another book written by Hilary Bonner or narrated by Karen Cass?

    I would try another by narrater not author. Narrator did her best and was quite good at differentiating different characters.


    What will your next listen be?

    Am listening to "the secret place"


    Have you listened to any of Karen Cass’s other performances? How does this one compare?

    no


    Do you think The Cruellest Game needs a follow-up book? Why or why not?

    please no !


    Any additional comments?

    Very unbelievable plot and characterisation, felt like it should have ended about 2 hours before it finally did but author wanted to spin out final "twist" though that "twist" just like all the others in book had been pretty obvious all along.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Mrs. D. E. Broadbent 02/10/2015

    Di

    HELPFUL VOTES
    2
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    10
    7
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "So disappointing"

    I have read Hilary Bonner's books before, which is why I selected this, but boy was I disappointed! The narrator was awful (sorry), but I'm sure she got as fed up reading such nonsense as I did listening, even I picked up the end 'twist'very early on, and I'm not the sharpest knife in the drawer.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    lorna m kennedy 07/02/2015 Member Since 2011
    HELPFUL VOTES
    17
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    13
    5
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Love the way this author writes."

    Excellent, love the twist at the end.
    I enjoy this authors writing and can't wait to start the next book.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Reikisue UK 21/12/2014
    Reikisue UK 21/12/2014 Member Since 2014
    HELPFUL VOTES
    33
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    17
    10
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Suspends belief !"
    Is there anything you would change about this book?

    I've previously listened to " when the dead cry out" and enjoyed it very much. So thought I'd try another audiobook by Hillary Bonner. What a disapointment this was. Too wordy and a ridiculous plot. Unbelievable and unlikable characters.


    What could Hilary Bonner have done to make this a more enjoyable book for you?

    Not written it at all.


    What three words best describe Karen Cass’s performance?

    Has a pleasant, narrative voice which I felt I could easily listen to again, only her style did not suit this novel. Her narration is "cheerful" and positive, not at all suitable for the characters in this book, or the traumatic themes depicted.
    I know this isn't three words but I feel it's relevant to warn other would be listeners.


    Did The Cruellest Game inspire you to do anything?

    To stop listening, but I persevered, having used a credit, and I don't like giving up on authors, especially one whose work I've previously enjoyed. It has made me wary of listening to any more of this authors work although I've wish listed another two. I'll have to read other listeners reviews before I download any more.


    Any additional comments?

    At first I blamed the narrator for not enjoying this book. She has an "upbeat" way of narrating which didn't match the theme/atmosphere of the story. In the end I decided she was a good narrator but should have left this one alone.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Mrs Gee Isle of Man, UK 30/07/2014
    Mrs Gee Isle of Man, UK 30/07/2014

    Mrs Gee

    HELPFUL VOTES
    17
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    37
    6
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Twists all the way through"
    Would you listen to The Cruellest Game again? Why?

    I would def listen to this again. It was a brilliant book that kept you guessing all the way through.


    1 of 2 people found this review helpful
Sort by:
  • Delah
    Palm Desert, CA, United States
    07/03/14
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Just ok - too wordy"

    This book is just over 11.5 hrs. In my opinion it should have been edited down. It was too long. I think some writers write a bunch of extra words just because they can and thus make what could have been a really good tight story a long and windy story. Where are the editors? The narrator is good.

    1 of 2 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.