We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.co.uk/access.
 >   > 
The Antipope: The First Part of the Brentford Trilogy | [Robert Rankin]

The Antipope: The First Part of the Brentford Trilogy

You could say it all started with the red-eyed tramp with the slimy fingers who put the wind up Neville, the part-time barman, something rotten. Or when Archroy's wife swapped his trusty Morris Minor for five magic beans while he was out at the rubber factory.
Regular Price:£17.50
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • £7.99/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Your Likes make Audible better!

'Likes' are shared on Facebook and Audible.com. We use your 'likes' to improve Audible.com for all our listeners.

You can turn off Audible.com sharing from your Account Details page.

OK

Publisher's Summary

"Outside the sun shines. Buses rumble towards Ealing Broadway and I'm expected to do battle with the powers of darkness. It all seems a little unfair..."

You could say it all started with the red-eyed tramp with the slimy fingers who put the wind up Neville, the part-time barman, something rotten. Or when Archroy's wife swapped his trusty Morris Minor for five magic beans while he was out at the rubber factory.

On the other hand, you could say it all started a lot earlier. Like 450 years ago, when Borgias walked the earth.

Pooley and Ornally, stars of the Brentford Labour Exchange and the Flying Swan, want nothing to do with it, especially if there's a Yankee and a pint of Large in the offing. Pope Alexander VI, last of the Borgias, has other ideas.

©SmartPass Ltd

What the Critics Say

"Superb! A totally brilliant way to revise" (Daily Express)
"A wealth of useful material." (Times Educational Supplement)
"Refreshing¿ clear and lively¿ a stimulating study aid." (Sunday Times)
"Impressive teaching and study aid." (SNIP Magazine)

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.2 (105 )
5 star
 (54)
4 star
 (29)
3 star
 (12)
2 star
 (6)
1 star
 (4)
Overall
4.1 (40 )
5 star
 (20)
4 star
 (11)
3 star
 (4)
2 star
 (2)
1 star
 (3)
Story
4.2 (38 )
5 star
 (20)
4 star
 (10)
3 star
 (5)
2 star
 (1)
1 star
 (2)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    John Bradford, United Kingdom 12/07/2009
    John Bradford, United Kingdom 12/07/2009
    HELPFUL VOTES
    38
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    58
    6
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    "The Anti-pope"

    The book is in the vein of Douglas Adams or Terry Pratchett but in the occult rather than sci-fi or fantasy. A friend recommended this book a long time ago and I never got around to getting a copy. Browsing audible I saw it and thought I would give it a try. It was an excellent choice on my part, which shows I do make some occasionally. It is well written and superbly read, with wry, dry humour and characters that don't just live but are likeable, and I really wanted to see how it would pan out. I subsequently got 'Hollow chocolate bunnies of the apocalypse' which I also enjoyed. In a publishing world where clones of success swarm, Rankin and his work stand apart. You get the idea that he is a genuine story teller who wants about all to entertain, which certainly does. The only negative comment is that none of the rest of the series are available on audible. If they do become available I will be the first to buy.

    7 of 7 people found this review helpful
  •  
    David Holmfirth, United Kingdom 06/12/2013
    David Holmfirth, United Kingdom 06/12/2013 Member Since 2009
    HELPFUL VOTES
    7
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    57
    8
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Best Dressed Shaggy Dog in Show"

    I tried reading this several years ago, and got nowhere.
    But this audio version was a joy. Unusually for an Audiobook - it benefitted from being read by the author. He has a great use of language and I don't know that anyone else would do it justice.
    What's really special about this audiobook is that although it's a full and unabridged transcription, every bit of dialogue is acted out, by actors who sound fully engaged in what they are doing.
    It was a real pleasure.
    OK, some of the story is showing its age now, and some of the sound effects were a bit jarring, but it's well worth a credit to get such a well polished production.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Jonathan Melbourne, Australia 13/04/2013
    Jonathan Melbourne, Australia 13/04/2013 Member Since 2013
    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    1
    1
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    "Brilliance"

    I have missed reading Roberts books, to be honest id forgotten how enjoyable and funny they are and to have the legendary Pooley and O'Mally actually talking to me was great. I am dyslexic and Roberts books were some of the only books I have read, kept me interested and wanting to keep reading no mater how hard. The antipope was the first I read 10 years ago and was overjoyed that I found it on audible and look forward to reading more, found the brentonicon so thats next .

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    AmV Andy UK 13/04/2013
    AmV Andy UK 13/04/2013 Member Since 2012
    HELPFUL VOTES
    0
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    4
    4
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    1
    0
    Overall
    "More please!"

    In Robert Rankin's first book in the Brentford Triangle series - which I originally bought as a paperback because I was intrigued by the playfulness of later titles in the series and wanted to read them in the right order, if at all - the author makes a good fist of introducing us to a whole new scenario that would become very familiar to his fan base. It's hard to objectively report whether the audio book does that as effectively as the book itself, because returning to the streets of Pooley and Omally's Brentford is now like coming home.



    Rich, well defined characters, beautifully crafted situations and a wholly implausible storyline that plays out exceptionally well - if you're prepared to let your imagination off the lead - this is an excellent introduction to Rankin's flavour of Far Fetched Fiction, a host of characters that you will grow to believe you know personally and the joys of the running gag.



    Any chance of the other three books in this trilogy at least? Okay, four if you include the later Brentford Chainsaw Massacre.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    P. J. Williams UK 29/10/2010
    P. J. Williams UK 29/10/2010 Member Since 2010

    Willxx

    HELPFUL VOTES
    53
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    62
    16
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    "Good conversion"

    Not perfect by any means, but manic and fun, and once I got over the characters not sounding exactly as they should have (in my head obviously) it settled down into a really good version of the better kind of lunacy that Robert Rankin offered before I gave up reading his stuff as he seemed to me to have followed Terry Pratchett into formulaic writing (for which I don't fault him in any way if he truly has, at the end of the day its what ever pays the bills and why kill off a golden goose?)

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Showing: 1-5 of 5 results
Sort by:
  • Jessica
    Northfield, MN, USA
    28/02/09
    Overall
    "Fun and silly"

    A hilarious parody of Lovecraftian horror. The humor is whimsical, over-the-top, and very British. Would've given it five stars if not for the overuse of sound effects; those got pretty irritating after a while, but certainly weren't bad enough to keep me from enjoying the rest. The voice acting was delightful.

    4 of 4 people found this review helpful
  • Jamie
    Leicester, United Kingdom
    30/06/09
    Overall
    "Another good Rankin."

    This was a really good listen. Strange and quite silly in parts. Particularly like the cowboy theme night.

    Clearly read, acted and so on. Very good and very funny.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  • Robin
    LEESBURG, FL, United States
    19/04/09
    Overall
    "Laugh out loud"

    A very good book. The voices were excellent but the sound effects did get a bit irrating though not near enough to stop listening. It reminds me some what of Douglas Adams with a little Agatha Christie thrown in for good measure.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  • Showing: 1-3 of 3 results

    There are no listener reviews for this title yet.

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank You

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.