We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.co.uk/access.
 >   > 
She Tempts the Duke Audiobook

She Tempts the Duke: Lost Lords of Pembrooke, Book 1

Regular Price:£18.29
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • £7.99/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

"Heath steals your heart, then takes you on a journey that will leave you torn between tears and joy".
-Christina Dodd

New York Times bestselling author Lorraine Heath writes sweet temptations-richly, deliciously passionate, high concept historical romance in the vein of Lisa Kleypas and Liz Carlyle. With She Tempts the Duke, Heath kicks off another enthralling series, this time following the fortunes of the Lost Lords of Pembrook-three dark and dangerous noble brothers imprisoned and robbed of their inheritance, but free now and determined to reclaim their birthright. Set in England during Victoria's reign, She Tempts the Duke is the enthrallingly romantic story of Sebastian, who fled to battle, and his return to London, a hardened soldier, drawn to the beautiful, brave lady who helped him and his brothers escape their captivity.

©2012 Jan Nowasky (P)2016 HarperCollins Publishers

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.5 (4 )
5 star
 (3)
4 star
 (0)
3 star
 (1)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (0)
Overall
4.5 (4 )
5 star
 (3)
4 star
 (0)
3 star
 (1)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (0)
Story
4.5 (4 )
5 star
 (3)
4 star
 (0)
3 star
 (1)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (0)
Performance


There are no listener reviews for this title yet.

Sort by:
  • Deborah
    Martinsville, VA, United States
    12/04/16
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Another Twist on Wicked Nobleman"
    What made the experience of listening to She Tempts the Duke the most enjoyable?

    I found this book to have a different twist to most books of this type and by Heath. The listen was exciting and suspenseful.


    What other book might you compare She Tempts the Duke to and why?

    I would compare this book to Heath's In Bed with the Devil but only loosely.


    What about Faye Adele’s performance did you like?

    Adele does a good job narrating this book. Her voice was full of emotion and inflection.


    Did you have an extreme reaction to this book? Did it make you laugh or cry?

    The book does purge the emotions, so if you are a crier keep the tissues close.


    Any additional comments?

    The series is worth the investment as the purchaser will want to listen to them over and over.

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful
  • Amazon Customer
    RUTLAND, VT, United States
    10/03/16
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "VT. FAN"

    I love Lorraine Heath and this is the first of a great trilogy with action ,romance and suspense.. Faye Adele is fabulous as the narrator of all 3 audio books..She is terrific with both male and female voices as well as children's voices.. Unlike some of the narrators chosen for Ms. Heath's audio books where the 19 or 20 year old female lead sounds like 40, and the 20 early 30 male leads sounds 80 you will not be disappointed with Faye Adele narration. It is perfect..

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful
  • Edwina "I Love books"
    USA
    23/02/16
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "BEAUTIFUL LOVE STORY!!"
    Where does She Tempts the Duke rank among all the audiobooks you’ve listened to so far?

    at the top


    What was one of the most memorable moments of She Tempts the Duke?

    The beginning when the brothers return at the Ball 12yrs later after there escape!! The shock on there uncles face and the shock of the Ton


    Which character – as performed by Faye Adele – was your favorite?

    Mary Wynne- Jones


    If you were to make a film of this book, what would the tag line be?

    Three Brothers in the Tower


    Any additional comments?


    I loved She Tempts the Duke!! I could not put it down and only stop reading for a few hours to close my eyes. This is a true Historical Romance between childhood friends and unconditional friendship.

    The story starts in 1844 with there young boys sons of the Duke of Keswick are lead to the tower at there ancestral home Pembrook on orders of there uncle David Easton. Sebastian is the older of the 14 year old twins Tristan is the second twin and Rafe was the third and youngest brother at 10 years. There father is dead and now Sebastian is the new Duke of Keswick and his uncle wants them dead. Mary Wynne-Jones the 10 yrs old daughter of the Earl of Winslow, has found out they are being held in the tower and she know why. Mary helps the boys escape and is told by Sebastian who she loves and is his Best Mate that they will return in 10 years, but 12 years past and Mary was sent off to be raised by Nuns in a Covent. She thinks the boys must be dead or at least one of them would have contacted her over so many years. Rumors are rampant in the Ton as to what happen to the boys. There evil uncle has taken guardianship over all there holding and now he is proceeding to partition the court of Chancery to granted the title of Duke.

    The three brothers return and introduce themselves at a Ball with over 300 people in attendance and Mary is there with her Fiancée Viscount Fitzwilliam. The brothers make a grand entrance and expose there uncle David as the villain he is. However it is hard for the boys to re enter society. As they have had to live hard and rough lives to survive. Sebastian has been horribly scared and lost his eye fighting in the war. Mary of course does all she can to help her friends, but some of the Ton doesn't believe there story about there uncles evil dealings and intent concerning them. Once David is displaced and they have insured he lives in poverty. They start to rebuild there lives but there uncle won't give up on becoming a powerful Duke so easily.

    Mary and Sebastian rekindle there friendship and time and time again she comes to his an his brothers aid. I loved that the story centers mostly around Sebastian and Mary and the Soul Mate bond they shared since there early childhood. They are both loveable well written and well developed characters. There are lively characters through out the story and the tone of the book is true to the era it is set in. The story moves fast and I couldn't stop reading. The back story is detailed just enough. The romance and love between the two main characters Sebastian and Mary was just awesome. I can't wait to read Tristan and Rafe's stories. If I can one complaint it would be the uncle David's end came to quick and easy!! I Highly Recommend "She Tempts the Duke"




    2 of 2 people found this review helpful
  • tdubs
    Arkansas
    23/10/16
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Couldn't stop listening"
    What did you love best about She Tempts the Duke?

    I loved that the author remembered that she was writing a LOVE story. Too many authors try to make their story about a steamy sex scene with weird conversation or weird positions or locations. They forget that it is the love and romance that make the sex scenes good. She also did a great job of moving the story along at a steady pace.


    What was one of the most memorable moments of She Tempts the Duke?

    The tower scene. I hate to tell too much because I don't want to ruin anything for future listeners. All I will say is that this is a story with a hero and I love a hero. :)


    Which character – as performed by Faye Adele – was your favorite?

    I have to say that I really liked this narrator. I didn't think I would at first but then I found that she never distracted me from the story. Her male voices were recognizable but not not silly. Some narrators create "character actor" style voices that if applied to the wrong character can ruin the whole experience. This narrator was fantastic in that she let the story shine. So I suppose I loved all of her characters!


    If you were to make a film of this book, what would the tag line be?

    Certainly not "She Tempts the Duke." It's an intriguing title but doesn't seem to fit the story. This is one of those "True Love is Forever" kind of stories. Might be a boring tag line but it fits the story better.


    Any additional comments?

    Lorraine Heath is my new favorite author after reading this book! Can't wait to dig into the next one in the series!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Amazon Customer
    Memphis, Tennessee, United States
    19/09/16
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Love the return!"

    The lost Lords are some formable men! I truly loved the scene where they let the ton know that they have returned to claim what was stolen from them. Their devious uncle has taken over their estate, and has plans to be named the rightful Duke of Keswick, thus taking over all his nephew's birthrights. He and his twin, plus their younger brother, return on the night their uncle is holding a ball letting everyone know he is the new Duke. Needless to say, thing didn't work out so well for the uncle. Just picturing how the three brothers looked standing at the top of the ballroom stairs is enough to make you want to continue reading this book.

    There is also a wonderful love story set as the backdrop for this book. Mary, our heroine is the perfect match for our hero. She stands between them and certain death, and helps them escape from the tower, after their uncle has locked them up in preparation to kill them. She stays loyal to the brothers for over ten years, and turns out to be their greatest supporter when they return.

    Ms. Adele does a decent job, and this is a good start for the series.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Elizabeth
    United States
    01/08/16
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Young love endures"

    This book immediately grabbed my attention. I love all four main characters from the minute I heard their banter. I couldn't wait for the relationship to Blossom between Sebastian and Mary so I admit I did listen to The First few hours at Double speed. It wasn't that the book was not interesting it's just that I was in such a hurry to get to the meat of the relationship. There is a bit where Sebastian takes a sojourn from his senses and I pretty much wanted to slap him over and over. And at that same time Mary's tends to be a little bit more timid and I wanted to slap her a few times. But once they get it all figured out it is a lovely story.

    I also enjoyed the narrator. She isn't the very best I've heard but I liked her female voices and her male voices are decent. She doesn't make any of the character sound too old or too pompous. Mary, Sebastian, Rafe, and Tristan all sound like they're in their twenties.

    I definitely think it's worth a credit and I'm looking forward to Tristan and Rafe's stories.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.