We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.co.uk/access.
 >   > 
Rosie's War Audiobook

Rosie's War

Regular Price:£12.99
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • £7.99/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

A compelling wartime drama from the author of The Street, perfect for fans of Pam Weaver and Kitty Neale.

Rosie Gardiner is having a tough war. She's had to leave her job as a nude at the Windmill in Soho after a horrific assault which left her pregnant and is now living back at home with her recently remarried dad. Despite her best efforts, Rosie and her dad just can't get along, and the strain of coping as a young, unmarried mother is getting to her.

As the Nazis strafe the city with V2 bombs, Rosie is determined to keep her head up through the Blitz, but when a direct hit to her street cripples her father, it feels like the days have never been darker. With a final burst of resolution, John Gardiner decides to leave London to escape the bombardment, and, to Rosie's mixed horror and relief, he takes her baby with him.

Left alone in the East End, with the spectre of the man who assaulted her rearing his ugly head, Rosie decides to join the London Auxiliary Ambulance Service to keep her busy - and to give her hope in these tough times.

©2015 Kay Brellend (P)2015 HarperCollins Publishers Limited

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.3 (12 )
5 star
 (8)
4 star
 (1)
3 star
 (1)
2 star
 (2)
1 star
 (0)
Overall
4.6 (9 )
5 star
 (6)
4 star
 (2)
3 star
 (1)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (0)
Story
4.9 (9 )
5 star
 (8)
4 star
 (1)
3 star
 (0)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (0)
Performance
Sort by:

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.