We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.co.uk/access.
How to be a Good Wife Audiobook

How to be a Good Wife

Regular Price:£16.99
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • £7.99/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

I know what my husband would say: that I have too much time on my hands; that I need to keep myself busy. That I need to take my medication. Empty nest syndrome, he tells his friends at the pub, his mother. He's always said I have a vivid imagination.

Marta and Hector have been married for a long time - so long that she finds it difficult to remember her life before him. He has always taken care of her, and she has always done everything she can to be a good wife. But when Hector comes home with a secret, their ordered domestic life begins to unravel, and Marta begins to see things, or perhaps to remember them. In the shadows there is a blonde girl that only Marta can see. And she wants something .

©2013 Emma Chapman (P)2013 Pan Macmillan Publishers Ltd

What the Critics Say

"Fans of Before I Go To Sleep will love this chilling debut from Emma Chapman." (Grazia)

"On the surface the book is a highly competent, creepy little chiller, but beneath, like a silent, bolted and half-dark room, there's a much bigger, equally disconcerting story about the nature of feminine experience. It's an accomplished debut from a writer who shows insight and emotional power." (Hilary Mantel, Man Booker Prize winning author of Wolf Hall)

"A chilling study of paranoia and doubt... Chapman builds the tension, as Marta's behaviour becomes more erratic and her seemingly benign husband begins to appear in a sinister light. An unnerving tale, where nothing is as it seems." (Marie Claire)

"Wonderfully assured... This is a tale of the tricks repression, denial and memory can play on us... Set in an eerie, purposefully undefined part of Scandinavia, this is an unnerving, clever read. It's one of those novels (think Gone Girl) with a big twist. Recommended for fans of S J Watson, Rosamund Lupton and Zoe Heller." (Viv Groskop, Red)

"This taut debut will have you rooting for Marta as she rediscovers who she was before her marriage. A must-read for fans of S.J.Watson." (Easy Living)

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

3.9 (40 )
5 star
 (14)
4 star
 (14)
3 star
 (8)
2 star
 (2)
1 star
 (2)
Overall
3.8 (35 )
5 star
 (13)
4 star
 (10)
3 star
 (8)
2 star
 (1)
1 star
 (3)
Story
4.4 (35 )
5 star
 (20)
4 star
 (9)
3 star
 (6)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (0)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Fiona RatoathIreland 29/05/2014
    Fiona RatoathIreland 29/05/2014 Member Since 2016

    A genuine reviewer - not just all 5 star reviews here!

    HELPFUL VOTES
    6
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    233
    3
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Is she crazy, or is he bad!"
    Would you listen to How to be a Good Wife again? Why?

    I really enjoyed this book. It was very well paced and really engaging. The author has engineered this book perfectly, so that the reader is never quite sure if the main character is mad or is her husband bad.


    What did you like best about this story?

    The sense of suspense and intrigue that the author creates and the pace of the story. It unwinds slowly, but never becomes dull.


    Which scene did you most enjoy?

    The scenes in which the main protagonist slowly emerges from the fugue of her own confusion.As readers we take this journey with her and want to be on her side, but there is always the seed of doubt about her sanity.


    Was this a book you wanted to listen to all in one sitting?

    Definitely, but I savoured it over a few sittings.


    Any additional comments?

    Download this book and enjoy the journey!

    5 of 5 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Kaggy 18/05/2015
    Kaggy 18/05/2015 Member Since 2013

    Will read anything within reason.

    HELPFUL VOTES
    702
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    208
    200
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    129
    15
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Sadly a good idea but a dreary story"

    Two hours into this story I decided I didn't really care if Marta was mad or Hector was bad. There is clearly something odd going on but the setting is so dull and the characters are so unengaging that I didn't feel any sense of tension or desire to unravel the mystery.

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Flower Girl Surrey UK 17/06/2014
    Flower Girl Surrey UK 17/06/2014 Member Since 2015

    Flower Girl

    HELPFUL VOTES
    23
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    582
    15
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    1
    12
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Oh dear, oh dear, oh dear."

    I wanted to listen to this book because of the reader, Fenella Woolgar who I think is utterly brilliant and because of the positive reviews. However, I soon found myself researching again, to see if anyone had found this book boring beyond belief. Half way through I was still un-engaged. I eventually just about managed to listen to the entire story with my my "Stoic hat" firmly planted on my head and as the closing credits were read I thought "Well that's a whole chunk of time I will never get back again!"

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Aybee 13/02/2016
    Aybee 13/02/2016
    HELPFUL VOTES
    5
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    12
    11
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "A Real Struggle To Finish."

    This is the first audio book I cannot recommend and will be returning for a refund.

    Where do I start?
    The storyline is weak but I kept on listening in hope it would get better. It didn't. It's so predictable that I found myself saying out loud exactly what Fenella was saying countless times. The ending took no imagination what so ever.

    As for Fenella Woolgar's narration. I've come to the conclusion that she found this just as unexciting and uneventful as I did because there really was no life in her voice at all. It didn't rise or fall because there was no reason for it to I suppose. The few characters she had to portray were acceptably done. Just. They had no substance to them and she didn't try to bring them to life.

    What other listeners saw in this book I truly do not know.

    In conclusion I will not be buying anything by Emma Chapman nor listening to Fenella Woolgar again. This has been a trying experience.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Amelia 12/08/2014
    Amelia 12/08/2014

    Say something about yourself!

    HELPFUL VOTES
    183
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    101
    101
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    26
    2
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Dysfunctional relationship and odd story"



    ****BEWARE SPOILERS****

    This was quiet a different story of a woman called 'Marta' and her husband 'Hector'. She appears initially and maybe in reality as a sufferer of a mental illness. The husband appears to be caring for her but the dynamics of their relationship (even if it is real and she has a mental illness) is very odd. From his perspective we are led to believe that he took her in from his doorstep and despite having to care for her mentally and sometimes physically he loves her and is still begging her 'never to leave him'. If this is true then a relevant question is why would he do this and continue to do so for some years when he was getting nothing back from it ie what was in it for him. He comes across as something of a pervert with the rape of 'Marta' in the book and the way he was under investigation for an inappropriate relationship with a student in his school. He had been suspended for 2-3 months without saying anything. Its all a little odd if you think about it.
    If 'Marta' has a point re her remembering events then why should everyone believe him and why should even her son not take it further considering her obvious distress. Her son said he found no reference to her disappearance on the internet but surely there should be a record of her parents deaths and she would have had to produce a birth certificate and proof of her identity in order to marry Hector as it said they were married in a church.
    I did enjoy it but do not think it would be everyones cup of tea and would not as such wholeheartedly recommend it.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Sandra Enniscorthy, Ireland 18/06/2014
    Sandra Enniscorthy, Ireland 18/06/2014 Member Since 2013
    HELPFUL VOTES
    17
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    83
    14
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    1
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "A must read!"
    What did you like most about How to be a Good Wife?

    Normally I gallop from read to read but this book brought me to a full stop. I had to think and make my own conclusions about how I saw life as a woman après marriage, career , children, etc. etc. I am haunted by this novel I will never forget it. Most pulp I accidentally read I think of it zero moments after finishing. I would highly recommend this book. I will definitely read it again.


    What did you like best about this story?

    You were truly engaged and gripped,involved, stricken and with her all the way.


    What about Fenella Woolgar’s performance did you like?

    Compleatly inside the veins of the protagonist, gripped me relentlessly.... Would not let go.


    Was this a book you wanted to listen to all in one sitting?

    Yes, yes, and yes again!!


    Any additional comments?

    I would strongly recommend the lover of a good book to give this some time, understand like all best books you have to give it time to evolve. Well worth the read....audio fantastic!!!!

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Amazon Customer leicestershire, uk 03/11/2015
    Amazon Customer leicestershire, uk 03/11/2015
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    16
    4
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "A well paced story with a surprising twist"

    I enjoyed this story more than I expected, and although Marta can be a frustrating character at times in how she reacts to things, it's understandable why she behaves as she does, and becomes clearer as the story goes on. A good read

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Linda C. Stanley UK 10/09/2014
    Linda C. Stanley UK 10/09/2014 Member Since 2014

    seamstress54

    HELPFUL VOTES
    4
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    15
    7
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Exhausting main character"
    Would you say that listening to this book was time well-spent? Why or why not?

    Nearly gave up early into story as was very depressing listening to the main characters internal thoughts.


    Would you ever listen to anything by Emma Chapman again?

    Yes


    What three words best describe Fenella Woolgar’s voice?

    Haunting, emotional, depth


    Was How to be a Good Wife worth the listening time?

    Wouldn't want to listen again, too miserable for me.


    Any additional comments?

    Quite depressing.

    1 of 2 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.