We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.co.uk/access.
Hard Landing Audiobook

Hard Landing: The Echo Platoon Series, Book 2

Regular Price:£15.69
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • £7.99/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

Navy SEAL Brant "Bronco" Adams adores women but never lets himself get too close to any one of them - until he meets sweet, classy Rebecca McDougal.

Rebecca is the wife of Mad Max, Brant's commanding officer and safely off-limits - until she confesses that she's desperate to escape her nightmare of a marriage and that Max isn't the upstanding commander they all think.

Emboldened to protect her, Brant skids head-long into Mad Max's plot to do him in. Suddenly, the former playboy will assume any risk to give him and Rebecca hope for a future of their own.

©2015 Marliss Melton (P)2015 Marliss Melton

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

5.0 (1 )
5 star
 (1)
4 star
 (0)
3 star
 (0)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (0)
Overall
5.0 (1 )
5 star
 (1)
4 star
 (0)
3 star
 (0)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (0)
Story
5.0 (1 )
5 star
 (1)
4 star
 (0)
3 star
 (0)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (0)
Performance


There are no listener reviews for this title yet.

Sort by:
  • Cathy Henderson
    01/10/15
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Hard Landing"
    Would you recommend this audiobook to a friend? If so, why?

    Yes. The story was a good one. It had romance, intrigue, a couple of very bad guys. The author seemed to know a lot about the military and the seals in particular which added depth to the story.


    What was one of the most memorable moments of Hard Landing?

    The scene where everything came to a head with the bad guys with the big rescue of Rebecca who was certain that she was going to die. This was a nail bitting, pins and needles kind of situation where I kept wanting the good guys to come save the day.


    Which scene was your favorite?

    At the end when Broncho and Rebecca were in Hawaii discussing their future and future wedding.


    If you were to make a film of this book, what would the tag line be?

    Just when you don't look for it, love shows up.


    Any additional comments?

    The only negative I have with this book was the narrator. He did an overall good job but there were times I noticed when he was supposed to be the voice of Broncho hints of other voices he was using would creep in.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  • Sophia Rose
    Southeast, MI, United States
    24/09/15
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Riveting, Intense Suspense & Complicated Romance"
    If you could sum up Hard Landing in three words, what would they be?

    Complicated, Tense, Well-Developed


    What did you like best about this story?

    Oddly, it was the complex villain. Max's descent into corruption, need to hide any flaw or weakness, his need to be respected, and the greed all made him interesting to me. He is growly and menacing most of the time with Becca, but he doesn't plan for more than intimidation. He really can't seem to understand where he went wrong with her because he doesn't seem to understand love which was sad. Although any sympathy I felt was erased near the end when he finally slid too far.


    What does Armen Taylor bring to the story that you wouldn’t experience if you just read the book?

    I felt he gave each character personality through his use of timbre, pace, and inflection. His Bullfrog voice was my favorite. He made Bullfrog deep, thoughtfully slow, and articulate. Bullfrog's milder emotions like his wry humor, disapproval, skepticism and concern were easy to hear in Armen's voice.


    Was this a book you wanted to listen to all in one sitting?

    No, but there was no moment that I didn't want to continue and several when I listened past the point I planned to stop. I enjoyed the story each time I went back to it.


    Any additional comments?

    I liked many things about this story even though I found the complicated romance situation one that made me hesitate in the beginning. Brant and Becca don't set out to cheat and her situation with her husband leaves her estranged from him before she does anything with Brant. I enjoyed that the author writes in an actual SEAL mission and trainings along with quality time for Brant with his team members Best of all, I am eager for the next book.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  • Loy
    Benbrook, TX, United States
    18/09/15
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "enjoyed this book"
    If you could sum up Hard Landing in three words, what would they be?

    a good installment


    Would you be willing to try another book from Marliss Melton? Why or why not?

    yes I have read her series Navy Seals . this was just as good. It was set in the small world.


    What about Armen Taylor’s performance did you like?

    Great narrator clear and I could tell who was who


    Was this a book you wanted to listen to all in one sitting?

    You could. I usually listen when I walk


    Any additional comments?

    this was a good story. I Liked the hero Bronco. He found out his friend Rebecca was in trouble and did not hesitate to help. I am not sure I like the part where she was still married, but her husband was not a nice person I will read/listen to the rest of the series. The author writes a good thrilling mystery/romance

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  • Terry
    16/09/15
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Navy Seals & Romantic suspense !!"
    Would you recommend this audiobook to a friend? If so, why?

    Yes, story is well paced and Narrator reads the story quite well.


    Who was your favorite character and why?

    Bronco Adams. The character is written with human flaws, he's not totally invincible. He knows he should not be attracted to Rebecca because she not only married, but married to his commander. When Rebecca's life is threaten he puts himself in danger to protect her. He wants to bring justice to those who are after power, control and money.


    Any additional comments?

    In this story you know from the start who the bad guys are but Marliss Melton keeps the story moving at a good pace with turns that keep you listening until the end. She also makes you want to hear Bullfrog's story next!

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  • Tara
    05/09/15
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "The Narration is awesome!"

    Love the narrator's voice!! Great story and is read so well. I want to hear more!

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  • Laurie
    TUALATIN, OR, United States
    09/11/15
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Hard Landing is a rock-solid military romance!"
    Would you recommend this audiobook to a friend? If so, why?

    **I received an audio copy of this book from the author in exchange for a review.**I would definitely recommend this book to a friend. I am planning to purchase the rest of the series as soon as possible.
    This is a story that has some really interesting and unconventional twists and turns. Great to read, equally wonderful to listen to. Not everything is as it first appears. Be ready to burn the midnight oil because there is no putting it down once you begin.


    What did you like best about this story?

    the characters are drawn so that they are both clear and realistic. The plot isn't just a series of predictable interactions, it is a lively obstacle course fit for a SEAL story.


    Have you listened to any of Armen Taylor’s other performances before? How does this one compare?

    This was my first exposure to Taylor as narrator and will not be my last. He gave the male characters voices that were both tough and intelligent, which added depth to the military context. Female voices were clear and feminine but occasionally cam across as whiney. There were a few times when the differences between the male characters was less than clear so I had to go back to figure out who was speaking.


    Any additional comments?

    I listen to a lot of audiobooks and greatly appreciate when the author's words and the narrators voice come together to make a story the best it can be.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Terri
    Georgia
    07/11/15
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Great military romance!"

    This is my first book by Marliss Melton and definitely won't be my last! This book has everything I love including a sexy hero, strong heroine, danger, and a hot romance. The book is action packed and grabbed me from the beginning all the way to the end of the book. I found I like the other SEALS in the book and am looking forward to reading each of their stories. I do like that the story has the SEALs going out on a mission so we can see a little into their relationship. I hope to see more of Bronco and Rebecca in future stories.
    Although this book works fine as a standalone, I did find myself wishing I had read or listened to book 1 in this series. The narrator for the audiobook does a great job and I would definitely listen to him again.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • TheBookstoreGal
    Rochester Hills, Michigan
    21/10/15
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Fast read! Appeals to military romance followers!"
    Would you recommend this audiobook to a friend? If so, why?

    I discovered Marliss Melton several years ago and haven't been disappointed since. Her books would appeal to both men and women, although they are considered romance at my local bookstore. There's always a great love story surrounded by military suspense. I would recommend any of her books to a friend.

    "Hard Landing" is part of her "Echo Platoon" series. It was a quick read; perfect for a weekend getaway or airplane book. It moved along quickly and had me anxious for more. Her characters are quite believable and, for the most part, likable (no one likes those pesky bad guys). I'm looking forward to reading her next book in the series.





    Have you listened to any of Armen Taylor’s other performances before? How does this one compare?

    I have not ever listened to Armen Taylor. I was a bit surprised to find the book being read by a man, but it worked. After listening, I couldn't imagine a womens voice.


    Any additional comments?

    I believe Marliss Melton would appeal to readers who enjoy Suzanne Brockmann, Cindy Gerard, Deborah Mann and Joann Ross.

    I was given an audiobook of this title by the author in exchange for my honest review.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.