We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.co.uk/access.
 >   > 
Easterleigh Hall Audiobook

Easterleigh Hall

Regular Price:£18.99
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • £7.99/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

A compelling new series set in County Durham just before the First World War. Perfect for fans of Longbourn and Downton Abbey. When Evie Forbes starts as an assistant cook at Easterleigh Hall, she goes against her family's wishes. For ruthless Lord Brampton also owns the mine where Evie's father and brothers work, and there is animosity between the two families. But Evie is determined to better herself. And her training at the hall offers her a way out of a life below stairs. Evie works hard and gains a valued place in the household. And her dream of running a small hotel grows ever closer. Then war is declared, and all their lives are thrown into turmoil.

©2014 Margaret Graham (P)2015 Audible, Ltd

What the Critics Say

"A glorious read." (Frost Magazine)

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.1 (38 )
5 star
 (20)
4 star
 (11)
3 star
 (2)
2 star
 (2)
1 star
 (3)
Overall
4.1 (35 )
5 star
 (20)
4 star
 (7)
3 star
 (3)
2 star
 (1)
1 star
 (4)
Story
4.2 (35 )
5 star
 (23)
4 star
 (5)
3 star
 (2)
2 star
 (2)
1 star
 (3)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Violet 24/05/2016
    Violet 24/05/2016 Member Since 2013
    HELPFUL VOTES
    3
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    14
    2
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Monotonous and slow"

    Tried for several hours to listen but there is nothing to hold your interest, no story, nothing to make you want to carry on so gave up. Narration boring which didn't help. Sorry but sending this one back.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Julie 15/08/2015
    Julie 15/08/2015

    Like a good old fashioned story,or a true crime book. Something not drawn out or a slow storyline.

    HELPFUL VOTES
    36
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    87
    41
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Wonderful first book - gripping"
    Would you consider the audio edition of Easterleigh Hall to be better than the print version?

    Audio


    What other book might you compare Easterleigh Hall to, and why?

    Other world war 1 family stories


    Have you listened to any of Katy Sobey’s other performances? How does this one compare?

    No but getting second book in series.Great narrator.


    Did you have an emotional reaction to this book? Did it make you laugh or cry?

    Kept me enthralled throughout


    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Amazon Customer 07/12/2016 Member Since 2015
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    7
    7
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "disappointing"

    predictable, slow and no real story. was expecting a Downton Abbey experience but it was sadly no comparison. Nearly gave up

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Petra 17/04/2016
    Petra 17/04/2016 Member Since 2015

    Ms P Wilson

    HELPFUL VOTES
    8
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    39
    11
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "great listen"
    Would you consider the audio edition of Easterleigh Hall to be better than the print version?

    Yes I would consider the audio edition of Easterleigh hall as the narrator had a wonderful gift for producing accents which related so well to each of the characters. I could have listened to her voice all day as it was so relaxing plus reading this book brought the characters alive so I was able to recognise each of the characters simply by the tone of her voice.


    What was one of the most memorable moments of Easterleigh Hall?

    The whole book was memorable but for me was when the main character Evie stood up to those who tried to downgrade her, no matter what station they were in life she showed her strength of character in so many ways.


    Which character – as performed by Katy Sobey – was your favourite?

    A very easy question to answer Evie Forbes she was a character who I wish I knew personally as she had a heart of gold yet she stood up for what she believed in.


    Was there a moment in the book that particularly moved you?

    There was a death in the mines, I will not spoil the read for other customers but how the author described each characters grief would have brought tears from the hardest of hearts.


    Any additional comments?

    This is simply one of the best listens I have so far received from Audible and now I am looking forward to the next book in the series,

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Rozemarijn 29/10/2015
    Rozemarijn 29/10/2015
    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    21
    5
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Quick light read with some drama and excitement"

    The storyline was pretty predictable but nonetheless gripping and enjoyable enough. I did actually cry at one point which rarely happens. The description of work in the mine and at the frontline did get to me.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.