We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.co.uk/access.
Coming Home For Christmas Audiobook

Coming Home For Christmas

Regular Price:£12.99
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • £7.99/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

Warm, humorous and completely irresistible. The perfect Christmas treat! The perfect festive treat for fans of The Archers, Carole Matthews and Veronica Henry.

Cat needs to get off the 'has-been' heap and rescue her flagging TV career but the demands of her extended family are reaching fever pitch and she barely has time to breathe.

Meanwhile, Pippa has got too many balls to juggle as a struggling single mum trying to hang on to her family farm. And Marianne's marriage is looking distinctly rocky now her beloved husband's ex is back on the scene.

Happy Christmas? Forget it. But Christmas is a time for miracles, and when the villagers learn they must fight for what they love, it becomes clear that there is festive magic in the air.Suddenly for Cat, Pippa and Marianne, it's looking like it might just be a Christmas to remember ...

©2014 Julia Williams (P)2014 HarperCollins Publishers Limited

What the Critics Say

Terrifically warm, with lovely, lively characters (Fiona Walker)

This story warms you like a cosy cup of cocoa (Closer)

As essential as tinsel and turkey if you want to get into that warm, fuzzy mood for Christmas (Closer)

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

3.4 (11 )
5 star
 (2)
4 star
 (3)
3 star
 (3)
2 star
 (3)
1 star
 (0)
Overall
3.6 (9 )
5 star
 (1)
4 star
 (4)
3 star
 (3)
2 star
 (1)
1 star
 (0)
Story
2.9 (11 )
5 star
 (1)
4 star
 (3)
3 star
 (3)
2 star
 (2)
1 star
 (2)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Miss 18/11/2014
    Miss 18/11/2014 Member Since 2011
    HELPFUL VOTES
    5
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    13
    7
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Mediocre story, awful narration"
    What would have made Coming Home For Christmas better?

    A different narrator - was difficult to tell whether the story was actually as bad as it seemed because I was so constantly irritated by the narration style - patronising and dull with really awful regional accents which didn't even seem to tie in with where the book was supposed to be based.


    Would you be willing to try another book from Julia Williams? Why or why not?

    Probably not.


    Who might you have cast as narrator instead of Penny McDonald?

    Anyone! Someone who doesn't try to do accents they can't do.


    What reaction did this book spark in you? Anger, sadness, disappointment?

    Disappointment


    Any additional comments?

    If you're reading this,Julia Williams, use someone different next time!

    3 of 3 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Maggie 28/11/2015
    Maggie 28/11/2015
    HELPFUL VOTES
    115
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    82
    81
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    22
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Not really a standalone, 3rd in a series"

    Sorry to repeat what I wrote about A Merry Little Christmas, but Audible or the publishers have missed a trick by recording the later Hope Christmas books but not the first one.

    Last Christmas (you can download to Kindle or buy the paperback) is the original and introduces us to Cath and Noël in London in the sort of fraught, pressured run up to the less than perfect Christmas most of us are all too familiar with. It's a lovely feel good Christmas book with a happy ending, perfect to sit down with in December - then these later books follow on.

    This book's good value in itself as it follows the main characters through another year, another Christmas, the narration is ok but perhaps not brilliant, and I enjoyed it as the next episode in the series. Not sure how well it would stand alone for someone meeting the village of Hope Christmas for the first time.

    So please Audible, record the first one soon!

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Junie 09/10/2016
    Junie 09/10/2016 Member Since 2015
    HELPFUL VOTES
    5
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    7
    6
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Dull and poorly narrated"
    If this book wasn’t for you, who do you think might enjoy it more?

    I don't know who might enjoy it...it certainly wasn't for me


    Would you ever listen to anything by Julia Williams again?

    Not based on this tale


    Would you be willing to try another one of Penny McDonald’s performances?

    No


    You didn’t love this book--but did it have any redeeming qualities?

    No


    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    c brennan 28/04/2015
    c brennan 28/04/2015 Member Since 2011
    HELPFUL VOTES
    17
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    31
    9
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Narrator annoying but lovely story"

    I loved this story it's like an episode of the Archers! Light hearted, easy listening.
    Needs a better narrator though

    1 of 2 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.