We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.co.uk/access.
 >   > 
Christmas for the Halfpenny Orphans Audiobook

Christmas for the Halfpenny Orphans: Halfpenny Orphans, Book 3

Regular Price:£12.99
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • £7.99/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

A gritty and compelling drama from the best-selling author of The Orphans of Halfpenny Street.

Perfect for fans of Nadine Dorries and Sheila Jeffries. Little twin sisters Sarah and Samantha are all alone in the world. When their mother died giving birth to Sarah, she was blamed for the death by her father, and her learning difficulties serve only to make him more angry and violent towards her. Now he's finally abandoned them both, and they've found sanctuary at St Saviour's Children's Home in London's East End. It seems they're doomed to be separated; no one wants to take Sarah on, but life apart will break their hearts.

Alice, a former worker at the home who is now a mother and happily married to Bob, finds her happiness under threat when a face from the past reappears. Jack Shaw, East End bad boy, has always been Alice's weak spot, but is she really about to throw everything away?

Angela Morton has her hands full; she's now in sole charge. But with Christmas approaching and more than one orphan in desperate need, St Saviour's is crying out for a miracle....

©2016 Cathy Sharp (P)2016 HarperCollins Publishers

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.1 (7 )
5 star
 (4)
4 star
 (0)
3 star
 (3)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (0)
Overall
3.7 (6 )
5 star
 (3)
4 star
 (0)
3 star
 (2)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (1)
Story
3.8 (6 )
5 star
 (3)
4 star
 (1)
3 star
 (1)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (1)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Liz 22/10/2016
    Liz 22/10/2016
    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    1
    1
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Well read albeit a slow book"

    I found this book boring
    I think the narrator did a good job considering the material
    It felt like a history lesson for children

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Janet Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom 21/10/2016
    Janet Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom 21/10/2016 Member Since 2010
    HELPFUL VOTES
    16
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    52
    18
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    1
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "TERRIBLE BORING NARRATION"

    Really trying to get past chapter 7 - the narration is far too condescending & samey.. its a real struggle.

    0 of 1 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.