We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.co.uk/access.
Among the Ten Thousand Things Audiobook

Among the Ten Thousand Things

Regular Price:£14.99
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • £7.99/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

For fans of Jenny Offill, Jonathan Franzen, A. M. Homes, and Lorrie Moore, Among the Ten Thousand Things is a dazzling first novel.

Jack Shanley is a well-known New York artist, charming and vain, who doesn't mean to plunge his family into crisis. His wife, Deb, gladly left behind a difficult career as a dancer to raise the two children she adores. In the ensuing years, she has mostly avoided coming face to face with the weaknesses of the man she married. But then an anonymously sent package arrives in the mail: a cardboard box containing sheaves of printed emails chronicling Jack's secret life. The package is addressed to Deb, but it's delivered into the wrong hands: her children's.

With this vertiginous opening begins a debut that is by turns funny, wise, and indescribably moving. As the Shanleys spin apart into separate orbits, leaving New York in an attempt to regain their bearings, 15-year-old Simon feels the allure of adult freedoms for the first time while 11-year-old Kay wanders precariously into a grown-up world she can't possibly understand. Writing with extraordinary precision, humour, and beauty, Julia Pierpont has crafted a timeless, hugely enjoyable novel about the bonds of family life - their brittleness and their resilience.

©2015 Julia Pierpont (P)2015 Audible, Ltd

What the Critics Say

"You just can't put Julia Pierpont's Among The Ten Thousand Things down. It's set to be huge." (Stylist)

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

2.6 (10 )
5 star
 (2)
4 star
 (1)
3 star
 (2)
2 star
 (1)
1 star
 (4)
Overall
2.1 (7 )
5 star
 (1)
4 star
 (1)
3 star
 (0)
2 star
 (1)
1 star
 (4)
Story
2.5 (8 )
5 star
 (1)
4 star
 (2)
3 star
 (0)
2 star
 (2)
1 star
 (3)
Performance


There are no listener reviews for this title yet.

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.