We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.co.uk/access.
To the Power of Three Audiobook

To the Power of Three: A Novel

Regular Price:£22.19
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • £7.99/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

There are excellent reasons why New York Times best-selling author Laura Lippman has won the Edgar®, Agatha, Anthony, Nero Wolfe, and every other major award the mystery genre has to offer. To the Power of Three is just one of those reasons. Lippman's brilliant and disturbing tale of three inseparable high school girlfriends in an affluent Baltimore suburb who share dark secrets literally until death, To the Power of Three is this "writing powerhouse" (USA Today), who has "exploded the boundaries of the mystery genre to become one of the most significant social realists of our time" (Madison Smartt Bell) operating at the very top of her game. Not merely crime fiction, but fiction that gets to the deep psychological, emotional, and human roots of a terrible crime, Lippman's novel is one that will not be easily forgotten - a must-listen for fans of Kate Atkinson, Tana French, Jodi Picoult, and Harlan Coben.

©2009 Laura Lippman (P)2016 HarperCollins Publishers

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

2.0 (1 )
5 star
 (0)
4 star
 (0)
3 star
 (0)
2 star
 (1)
1 star
 (0)
Overall
5.0 (1 )
5 star
 (1)
4 star
 (0)
3 star
 (0)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (0)
Story
1.0 (1 )
5 star
 (0)
4 star
 (0)
3 star
 (0)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (1)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Melissa Dublin, Ireland 23/08/2016
    Melissa Dublin, Ireland 23/08/2016 Member Since 2012
    HELPFUL VOTES
    3
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    170
    4
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Great story ruined by appalling narration"
    What would have made To the Power of Three better?

    A good narrator.


    What other book might you compare To the Power of Three to, and why?

    I can't think of any off hand but it is an excellent story that I wish I'd waited to read rather than listen to.


    Would you be willing to try another one of Alexandra O'Karma’s performances?

    I would rather chew off my right arm.


    What reaction did this book spark in you? Anger, sadness, disappointment?

    Anger and depression because of the narration. Disappointment that an excellent story was spoiled by such dreadful narration.


    Any additional comments?

    This actress should not be narrating audiobooks. Perhaps she's good on stage or on screen but her pace of narration, the odd tone and the depressing and soporific effect of her voice, completely destroyed any pleasure I might have taken in listening to this story.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
Sort by:
  • W. Spradlin
    San Luis Obispo, CA
    09/08/16
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Worst narration ever."

    The narrator suffers from dry mouth and possibly asthma, since you hear her every inhalation. It was really annoying, but I like Laura Lippman's writing so I listened to it all. Had I realized another narrator read an abridged version, I probably would have bought it instead.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • motoJill
    Oregon, United States
    31/07/16
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Disappointing, terrible narration"

    When I purchased To the Power of Three I didn't realize it was published in 2005. I've read a lot of Laura Lippmann books and liked them all. Thank goodness I didn't read this first. There's a reason it was just released in audio— it's slow. Maybe even dull. "Maybe" because the narration is so dull it's hard to tell if the book itself is dull or just in need of editing. It's even possible that with the right narrator the audio version could have improved upon the print version. But alas, the chosen narrator is just awful. Slow. Dull. Monotonous. Sleep-inducing. Same voice for every character.

    To make things worse, the production quality is also terrible. For long stretches we hear the narrator's deep inhales and gulping swallows. Some chapters run into each other without pause and others break with such long silences I found myself checking to see if I'd hit the pause button accidentally.

    I was ready to stop and return the book multiple times but just couldn't believe a Laura Lippman audiobook could be this hard to listen to! And periodically the narrator's pace would pick up a bit and the embarrassing, wet background noises would disappear, giving me hope after all! For awhile. Then back to the slow monotone and personal moments.

    Take my advice— pass on this one. Audible, I wasted a credit on this. You should have insisted on a do-over before stocking this Laura Lippmann novel. I feel taken advantage of.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Marisa
    Weirton, WV United States
    20/07/16
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "This isn't how teens sound"
    Would you try another book from Laura Lippman and/or Alexandra O'Karma?

    I love Laura Lippman but Alexandra O'Karma made every teen girl sound the same (depressed, bored).


    Did the plot keep you on the edge of your seat? How?

    I stayed interested and wanted to find out if I'd guessed correctly. (I had.) There was no jaw dropping plot twist but the story was entertaining and characters interesting.


    Did Alexandra O'Karma do a good job differentiating all the characters? How?

    No. As stated above, every teen girl sounded the same, used the same cadence, inflections, etc. I have 6 kids and I work with adolescents, so I know that even best friends don't sound that much alike or that depressed.


    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.