We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.co.uk/access.
The Unexpected Inheritance of Inspector Chopra Audiobook

The Unexpected Inheritance of Inspector Chopra: Baby Ganesh Detective Agency, Book 1

Regular Price:£19.99
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • £7.99/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

Mumbai, murder, and a baby elephant combine in a charming, joyful mystery for fans of Alexander McCall Smith and Harold Fry.

On the day he retires, Inspector Ashwin Chopra inherits two unexpected mysteries. The first is the case of a drowned boy, whose suspicious death no one seems to want solved. And the second is a baby elephant.

As his search for clues takes him across the teeming city of Mumbai, from its grand high-rises to its sprawling slums and deep into its murky underworld, Chopra begins to suspect that there may be a great deal more to both his last case and his new ward than he thought.

And he soon learns that when the going gets tough, a determined elephant may be exactly what an honest man needs....

©2015 Vaseem Khan (P)2015 Hodder & Stoughton

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.3 (77 )
5 star
 (35)
4 star
 (30)
3 star
 (9)
2 star
 (3)
1 star
 (0)
Overall
4.2 (74 )
5 star
 (32)
4 star
 (28)
3 star
 (12)
2 star
 (1)
1 star
 (1)
Story
4.4 (73 )
5 star
 (42)
4 star
 (23)
3 star
 (6)
2 star
 (2)
1 star
 (0)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Scott forsyth 02/10/2015
    Scott forsyth 02/10/2015 Member Since 2015
    HELPFUL VOTES
    6
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    6
    3
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Unexpected storyline😀"

    What a fantastic "read" enjoyed every single word. I came across the book when the author was interviewed on BBC Radio 2, his enthusiasm for the storyline was evident. This isn't a story about an elephant its a well written story about a central character and the many and varied people who he comes into contact with. The twists and turns keep coming right up to the last word. Really enjoyed it and can't wait for the next episode.

    6 of 6 people found this review helpful
  •  
    jitesh Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom 19/02/2016
    jitesh Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom 19/02/2016 Member Since 2015

    I'm a stay at home adventurer. The stories take me to different places, I see sites, smells, tastes and feel what the author says in my mind

    HELPFUL VOTES
    5
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    7
    7
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Indian police officer with a pet elephant."

    an Indian police office about to retire inherits a baby elephant. Should he investigate an suicide/murder on his last day of work. He must but has to do it on his own time as he embarks on retirement.

    nice soft hearted storyline.

    4 of 4 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Miss V Mahalingam 11/01/2016 Member Since 2015
    HELPFUL VOTES
    4
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    4
    2
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Brilliant book!"
    Would you listen to The Unexpected Inheritance of Inspector Chopra again? Why?

    Its a quirky and well written story, weaving a story of a mystical elephant with a real life mystery. I was hooked and couldn't wait for the mystery unfold in the end. Would defintiely recommend


    4 of 4 people found this review helpful
  •  
    anne Bedford, United Kingdom 20/12/2015
    anne Bedford, United Kingdom 20/12/2015 Member Since 2014

    As a recently retired "young" pensioner! I now have more time to read and listen to Audio Books as I renovate my house in Spain.

    HELPFUL VOTES
    121
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    104
    61
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    4
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "A gentle mystery"

    A nice gentle, quaint read with a flavour of the old and the new India.

    4 of 4 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Amazon Customer London, UK 29/03/2016
    Amazon Customer London, UK 29/03/2016

    Umm Ameen

    HELPFUL VOTES
    3
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    4
    3
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Good old fashioned Dectective Story"

    Welcome to the new Dectective and his sidekick - the best double act in Bombay

    3 of 3 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Georgia 24/03/2016
    Georgia 24/03/2016 Member Since 2013

    sweetwallstud

    HELPFUL VOTES
    4
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    20
    5
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Enjoyable."
    Would you consider the audio edition of The Unexpected Inheritance of Inspector Chopra to be better than the print version?

    Haven't read the print version.


    What was one of the most memorable moments of The Unexpected Inheritance of Inspector Chopra?

    Ganesh saving the Inspector's life.


    What does Sartaj Garewal bring to the story that you wouldn’t experience if you had only read the book?

    The flavour of India without being stereotypical.


    Did you have an emotional reaction to this book? Did it make you laugh or cry?

    I laughed a couple of times but it was just an enjoyable story


    Any additional comments?

    A light hearted read!

    3 of 3 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Mum of 2 05/06/2016
    Mum of 2 05/06/2016
    HELPFUL VOTES
    2
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    4
    1
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Detective fiction at it's best"

    Great story. Can't wait to get the next one. India is a beautiful setting for this original take on the genre.

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful
  •  
    antoinette Staffs, United Kingdom 02/06/2016
    antoinette Staffs, United Kingdom 02/06/2016 Member Since 2016
    HELPFUL VOTES
    5
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    67
    9
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "A gift of a Baby Elephant??"
    If you could sum up The Unexpected Inheritance of Inspector Chopra in three words, what would they be?

    Atmospheric, engaging and honorable


    Who was your favorite character and why?

    Inspector Chopra himself of course. This being the first in the series of the baby Ganesh Detective Agency a lo of time had to be given to him as the main character. Vaseem Khan described him so well he felt very real to me, human and fallible, but genuine and essentially a 'good' man. The effort he went to, to try to help the baby elephant.
    Of course Ganesh could also be described as the main character!


    Which scene did you most enjoy?

    Ganesh saving Chopra from 'the baddies' :)


    Was there a moment in the book that particularly moved you?

    Honestly? Really it was when Ganesh starts to eat. I hadn't realised, but up until then I had been holding my breath rooting for him as he got weaker and weaker and more and more sad.


    Any additional comments?

    Narrator, Sartaj Garewal, was excellent too. Thanks to his voice and the writing I could almost smell and taste Mumbai.
    There had better be lots more in the series!!

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Petra 08/05/2016
    Petra 08/05/2016 Member Since 2015

    Ms P Wilson

    HELPFUL VOTES
    8
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    39
    11
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "a great story with an authentic audible experience"
    Where does The Unexpected Inheritance of Inspector Chopra rank among all the audiobooks you’ve listened to so far?

    I would actually say it ranks near the top as I was addicted to the main character Inspector Chopra and his second in command.. and I do mean the one with the big ears and long trunk!!


    What was one of the most memorable moments of The Unexpected Inheritance of Inspector Chopra?

    The most memorable moment for me was when Inspector Chopra risks his own life to save his new friend. I do not want to spoil it for other listeners or readers but it was certainly worth the listen and read.


    Which scene did you most enjoy?

    Every scene which took place within this book was my favourite as it developed into one excellent work of fiction, one thing I did enjoy it showed the real India throughout.


    Did you have an emotional reaction to this book? Did it make you laugh or cry?

    I would not say it made me laugh or cry but it certainly kept me on the edge of my seat to see whether Inspector Chopra and his side-kick lived to fight crime another day.


    Any additional comments?

    If you liked the Ladies Detective agency series or even Hamish Macbeth etc. this one will suit your taste.

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful
  •  
    a addison 08/05/2016
    a addison 08/05/2016 Member Since 2015
    HELPFUL VOTES
    7
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    58
    22
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "entertaining"

    Very entertaining story well told and very good plot and love the elephant and twist

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.