We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.co.uk/access.
The Rule of Fear Audiobook

The Rule of Fear

Regular Price:£14.49
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • £7.99/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

The new novel by Luke Delaney, ex-Met detective and author of the terrifyingly authentic DI Sean Corrigan series. Perfect for fans of Mark Billingham, Peter James and Stuart MacBride.

Jack King is a sergeant on the Met's promotional fast-track. Tasked with catching whoever is preying on children on a notorious estate, he and his small team take on the challenge with gusto, determined to find the culprit and clean up the estate - gaining glory for themselves in the process.

But King soon finds himself in over his head: the local residents won't play ball, his superiors want results yesterday and he's refusing to admit that he's suffering from PTSD after attending a particularly traumatic crime scene. As the pressures combine, King finds himself on a downward spiral that will have devastating consequences.

©2016 Luke Delaney (P)2016 HarperCollins Publishers Limited

What the Critics Say

Praise for Luke Delaney: "A striking debut from a former Murder Squad Detective, Delaney is not his real name, but there is no doubt about his inside knowledge and ability to convey it." (Daily Mail)
"A confident, aggressive and very promising debut by a former Met detective." (The Times)
"An authentic voice on how the police operate with a stone-cold killer striking randomly around London...scary authenticity." (The Sun)

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.0 (25 )
5 star
 (9)
4 star
 (9)
3 star
 (5)
2 star
 (1)
1 star
 (1)
Overall
3.6 (23 )
5 star
 (6)
4 star
 (6)
3 star
 (8)
2 star
 (2)
1 star
 (1)
Story
4.0 (24 )
5 star
 (10)
4 star
 (8)
3 star
 (3)
2 star
 (1)
1 star
 (2)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    clare stewart 19/09/2016
    clare stewart 19/09/2016 Member Since 2015
    HELPFUL VOTES
    6
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    20
    7
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "The rule of fear"

    I really didn't think this was anywhere near as good as the other series written by the same author. It was about 7 hrs too long of a really longwinded drawn out far fetched storyline. It was rubbish!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Lisa Aitken 31/08/2016
    Lisa Aitken 31/08/2016 Member Since 2015
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    3
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Repetitive"

    Rarely do I not finish a book but this was just violence without substance. Abandoned 3/4 in

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    avidreader 09/08/2016
    avidreader 09/08/2016 Member Since 2016
    HELPFUL VOTES
    8
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    15
    11
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "unexpected ending"

    I enjoyed this story and the plot line was unusual. However, I did not enjoy the degree of swearing included and, even though this may be how they speak on the streets, it is not what I want to hear so much, hence the 4 stars. That said, it was not the usual cop story regurgitated so worth a try. I thought the narrator was good and added the different characterisations in a believable way.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.