We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.co.uk/access.
The Marriage Lie Audiobook

The Marriage Lie

Regular Price:£12.99
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • £7.99/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

A chillingly unsettling psychological thriller, perfect for fans of Paula Hawkins, Liane Moriarty, Shari Lapena and Clare Macintosh. Are you ready to question if everything in your life is really as it seems?

She thought they had a perfect marriage....

When a plane crashes, Iris Griffiths watches the news unfold with horror...and then relief. Her beloved husband, Will, had just flown out from the same airport, but he was on a different flight.

So why is his name on the list of victims? Surely there's some mistake - her husband would never lie to her. Would he? But wading deeper into the truth of her husband's deception, Iris begins to think the unthinkable.

Maybe she's glad that he's dead....

©2016 Kimberly Belle (P)2016 HarperCollins Publishers Limited

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.0 (99 )
5 star
 (37)
4 star
 (37)
3 star
 (14)
2 star
 (7)
1 star
 (4)
Overall
3.9 (85 )
5 star
 (33)
4 star
 (24)
3 star
 (19)
2 star
 (5)
1 star
 (4)
Story
4.2 (85 )
5 star
 (42)
4 star
 (28)
3 star
 (6)
2 star
 (6)
1 star
 (3)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Lynn 10/01/2017
    Lynn 10/01/2017 Member Since 2013
    HELPFUL VOTES
    6
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    7
    3
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "had me hooked from the beginning.."

    it really did have me hooked from the beginning and the end was perfect. brilliant

    4 of 4 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Jools 03/01/2017
    Jools 03/01/2017
    HELPFUL VOTES
    31
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    89
    22
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "A good listen"

    Enjoyed this book although if felt the last few chapters could be condensed. Narrator perfect.

    4 of 4 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Amazon Customer 30/01/2017
    HELPFUL VOTES
    5
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    7
    3
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Best twist ever"

    I couldn't have dreamt it up in my wildest dreams. Still plays on my mind.

    3 of 3 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Ann Newcastle, England 02/01/2017
    Ann Newcastle, England 02/01/2017 Member Since 2014

    Retired Psychologist Love reading/audiobooks, travelling, animals Favourite saying The fact that you believe something does not make it true

    HELPFUL VOTES
    874
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    305
    288
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    118
    12
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "I don't really get the gushing reviews!"
    Any additional comments?

    I stuck with this for 7 hours out of the 10 hour 22 minute length. I usually move on much sooner from a book that is not grabbing me. I continued so long with this because every review I had read was so enthusiastic about it being a great read and I thought that it must improve! The narration was very good and the story started with promise. However, the characters had little depth and I didn't really engage with any of them. I found the story had little substance, and very quickly I became a bit bored. My favourite genre is modern crime fiction and I had thought this fell broadly into that. That doesn't mean that I need, or particularly want, gruesome in my fiction, but I expect the occasional twist or turn. There is nothing of that to be found here. For me the story proceeds in an entirely predictable, and not very interesting, way. I had guessed the ending by half way through and thought the same with only 3 hours to go. Since I gave-up at that point, of course I can't be certain that my prediction would be correct, but I didn't care. It's pretty poor when over two thirds of a book have been ploughed through and still you don't care what happens in the end.

    7 of 8 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Karen D 04/02/2017
    Karen D 04/02/2017 Member Since 2015
    HELPFUL VOTES
    2
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    19
    4
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Not a single dull moment!"

    One of the best listens in a very long time. the narrator was excellent and very believable. I felt every emotion that the main character experienced.
    The ending was not was not what I wanted but more realistic

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful
  •  
    CE Beedell London, England 15/02/2017
    CE Beedell London, England 15/02/2017 Member Since 2014
    HELPFUL VOTES
    2
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    5
    2
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Great story"

    I enjoyed this but found the mom's 'Dutch' accent to be annoying in its lack of authenticity and it was distracting. The performance for all
    other characters was flawless

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Dame Brighid 15/01/2017
    Dame Brighid 15/01/2017 Member Since 2015
    HELPFUL VOTES
    3
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    17
    8
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "The 'READER' makes this story!"
    Would you recommend this audiobook to a friend? If so, why?

    The reader more then reads. I was impressed. I think the reader added a dimension to this story, that of I had read it myself. I may not have appreciated as much.

    Good story line. Well presented.


    What other book might you compare The Marriage Lie to, and why?

    None yet.


    Did you have an emotional reaction to this book? Did it make you laugh or cry?

    No.


    3 of 4 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Crazymazy 21/04/2017
    Crazymazy 21/04/2017 Member Since 2016
    HELPFUL VOTES
    7
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    9
    9
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Not sure about this one"

    This was an in-ofensive easy enough listen. However to many aspects of the end were kinda obvious so early in. OK maybe not the exact conclusion, but the key components. Look - it's not the best book in this category on the market but neither is it the worse. Not so bad it cannot be recommended. Loved it when the family was around in the story.

    Narrated well

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Geraldyn 16/04/2017
    Geraldyn 16/04/2017 Member Since 2013
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    8
    2
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "The marriage lie"

    Extremely disappointing Snd totally unbelievable story line . Hated this , don't waste a credit on it ,

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Joanne McEwan 13/04/2017
    Joanne McEwan 13/04/2017 Member Since 2017
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    6
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Would not recommend"

    An unrealistic and poorly executed plot and a very irritating main character. This book was not helped by the narration which was not pleasant to listen to.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
Sort by:
  • Marge
    22/01/17
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "A wild ride"

    It's been few days since I finished this beauty and still can't get over it. The narrator was brilliant, characters relatable; twist and turns in every chapter and you are sucked in from the beginning. IT was super quick and really enjoyable read! definitely recommended... keeps you guessing.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Unni M. Berg
    Bahamas
    10/01/17
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Insanely annoying"

    Everything is wrong about this book. It is insanely annoying. Don't listen to it! It will probably ruin your day too.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.