We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.co.uk/access.
The Lie Audiobook

The Lie

Regular Price:£12.99
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • £7.99/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

This was no accident.... Haunting, compelling, this psychological thriller will have you hooked. Perfect for fans of Gone Girl and Daughter.

Best friends are there for each other through thick and thin. You trust them with your life. At least that's what Emma, Daisy, Leanne, and Al think. But all that changes when they embark on a trip of a lifetime together. When they return home, only two of them are left alive, and the group has been torn apart by lies and deception.

Many years later, when the dust has settled and life has moved on, one girl receives a threatening letter. Someone knows the truth about what happened on that holiday and will stop at nothing to expose it ....

©2015 C.L. Taylor (P)2015 HarperCollins Publishers Ltd

What the Critics Say

Praise for C. L. Taylor:

"An enjoyable rollercoaster of a suspense novel with multiple twists." (Daily Mail)
"This dark and creepy book is a must read." (The Sun)
"A thrilling crime debut." (Woman Magazine)
"An ominous atmosphere, a tense tale of past and present colliding, and a narrator whom no-one believes: this book is a delight." (Alex Marwood)
"Utterly compelling. I could not put this gripping, heart-stopping page-turner down." (Rowan Coleman)
"Twisty, dark and utterly compelling." (Lucy Diamond)
"I was gripped from start to finish. Everyone should read this book!" (Lucy Robinson)
"This fast, twisty psychological thriller has suspense on every page!" (Paula Daly)
"Gripping and terrifying." (Julie Cohen)
"One of the best books I've read in ages - the tension never lets up until the final pages. Page-turning suspense ratcheted up with every new scene. Sub-plots woven in effortlessly. Brilliant - my heart was racing as I drew nearer and nearer to the ending." (Mel Sherratt)

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

3.9 (145 )
5 star
 (48)
4 star
 (52)
3 star
 (32)
2 star
 (10)
1 star
 (3)
Overall
3.8 (133 )
5 star
 (40)
4 star
 (45)
3 star
 (29)
2 star
 (15)
1 star
 (4)
Story
4.1 (133 )
5 star
 (60)
4 star
 (38)
3 star
 (23)
2 star
 (8)
1 star
 (4)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Andy Russell New Pitsligo 27/04/2015
    Andy Russell New Pitsligo 27/04/2015 Member Since 2016

    Listening to audible while walking the dogs is one of life's true pleasures.

    HELPFUL VOTES
    25
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    40
    21
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    1
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Excellent thriller let down by poor ending"
    What made the experience of listening to The Lie the most enjoyable?

    This is a really intense thriller and the narrator does an amazing job too.


    What did you like best about this story?

    It flips seamlessly between the present and the past, always gripping and just has that 'one more chapter' going for it - I listened to this in a little over 2 days.


    What does Penny Rawlins bring to the story that you wouldn’t experience if you had only read the book?

    Brilliant narrator, great voices and is spot on every time with the right emotion.


    Was there a moment in the book that particularly moved you?

    The lead character's love for animals.


    Any additional comments?

    Great book, the last hour though is a real let down - it could really have done with an extra twist

    5 of 5 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Simon Linton London 02/07/2015
    Simon Linton London 02/07/2015 Member Since 2012

    I wish my commute was longer, I'd just listen to more and more books!!

    HELPFUL VOTES
    4
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    12
    12
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "A Slow burner to start but got there in the end"

    The Lie starts with a bit of a girlie theme with the first quarter of the book establishing relationships between a group of girls which I found a little slow to begin with. Gradually though the book reals you in and before long you are eager to keep going and find answers. This wouldn't have been my usual choice but I still thoroughly enjoyed it.

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful
  •  
    miss e l castle 17/06/2015 Member Since 2015
    HELPFUL VOTES
    2
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    7
    1
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "great story, terrible narrator"

    I did enjoy the book but the narration was jarring! when she switched between characters it was cringeworthy. I felt it detracted from the story

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Megan Hodgkins 28/05/2015
    Megan Hodgkins 28/05/2015 Member Since 2014
    HELPFUL VOTES
    13
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    100
    12
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Brilliant! Couldn't stop listening!"

    Really enjoyed this book. I also read 'The Accident' which I liked, but this was better!
    Rely good narration too.

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful
  •  
    kellyeleven West Yorkshire 17/05/2015
    kellyeleven West Yorkshire 17/05/2015 Member Since 2013
    HELPFUL VOTES
    17
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    16
    13
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Had potential but became boring"

    I thought the story had potential, but the main body dragged in parts and all the emotive scenes seemed to centre around the mistreatment of women, which became too much. In my opinion the perpetrators were not dealt with harshly enough to satisfy the reader, given the awful things they did, and it became cliched. The narrator did well to portray the different accents and types of people.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Amazon Customer 28/09/2016 Member Since 2016
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    2
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Couldn't get into it at all..."

    I disliked this audiobook from the off but persevered to the end because I felt like I should.
    I'll be honest - I found the entire experience rather painful. This may have been due in part to the narrator: her Scottish accent was particularly awful and grated terribly.

    I didn't warm to any of the characters, I found the storyline itself to be completely ludicrous, and some of the main character voices were like nails on a blackboard - Daisy/Isaac/Al, & Chloe to be precise.

    I was (and still am) surprised this book had so many positive reviews.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    mr 03/09/2016
    mr 03/09/2016 Member Since 2016
    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    11
    9
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "animal welfare story, nice touch"

    unfortunately I believe I was the wrong gender for this story. I shall watch where I go on holiday.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    dc 29/07/2016
    dc 29/07/2016
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    1
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Unfortunate"

    This book was very long winded in areas that didn't need so much detail, the narrator used some very annoying voices (some of the men and Welch accents were off putting) and all in all, together, very disappointing.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Rw 09/06/2016
    Rw 09/06/2016 Member Since 2015
    HELPFUL VOTES
    7
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    15
    6
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "I really don't rate this book"
    What would have made The Lie better?

    So many things. I felt the story line was no at all clever, or surprising. I felt like I was waiting for it to get going the whole way though, and it never really did. For a thriller, it wasn't thrilling.


    Would you ever listen to anything by C.L. Taylor again?

    Probably not


    How did the narrator detract from the book?

    It was not well narrated. The characters were not likeable, probably partly due to the writing but also the narrator. I found all of her voices annoying!


    What character would you cut from The Lie?

    There were quite a lot of charachters in the cult and it got quite confusing. The all seemed much of the same and I found it hard to follow.


    Any additional comments?

    I saw this book compared to gone girl and girl on the train. Let me be clear, it's no where near their level. Not even close. So so far away. In my opinion.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    tegan 12/04/2016
    tegan 12/04/2016
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    3
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Great read couldn't put it down"

    Really enjoyed, wanted to keep listening enjoyed every second, so much suspense! Defo be looking at other titles from this author

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.