We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.co.uk/access.
The Killing Club Audiobook

The Killing Club

Regular Price:£14.49
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • £7.99/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

Get hooked on Heck: the maverick detective who knows no boundaries.

The perfect listen for fans of Stuart Macbride and Luther. DS Mark 'Heck' Heckenburg is used to bloodbaths. But nothing can prepare him for this. Heck's most dangerous case to date is open again. Two years ago, countless victims were found dead - massacred at the hands of Britain's most terrifying gang.

When brutal murders start happening across the country, it's clear the gang is at work again. Their victims are killed in cold blood, in broad daylight, and by any means necessary. And Heck knows it won't be long before they come for him.

Brace yourself as you turn the pages of a living nightmare. Welcome to The Killing Club.

©2014 HarperCollins Publishers Limited (P)2014 HarperCollins Publishers Limited

What the Critics Say

Praise for Stalkers:

"Stalkers is ace. Really terrific, compulsive stuff which was given top marks...definitely a talent to watch."(The Bookseller: One to Watch)
"Stalkers is a very dark premise... it'll have you by the throat until you get to the end."(Books and Writers)

Praise for Sacrifice:
"Avon's big star...part edge-of-the-seat, part hide-behind-the-sofa!"(The Bookseller)

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.5 (256 )
5 star
 (151)
4 star
 (88)
3 star
 (13)
2 star
 (3)
1 star
 (1)
Overall
4.5 (237 )
5 star
 (134)
4 star
 (84)
3 star
 (14)
2 star
 (4)
1 star
 (1)
Story
4.6 (234 )
5 star
 (163)
4 star
 (60)
3 star
 (8)
2 star
 (2)
1 star
 (1)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Graeme from Preston 18/08/2014 Member Since 2007
    HELPFUL VOTES
    38
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    183
    72
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    1
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Engrossing with great detail"
    Would you recommend this audiobook to a friend? If so, why?

    Yes. The horror in this one is of armed violence and fear of betrayal, and so would suit most crime readers.


    What was one of the most memorable moments of The Killing Club?

    The geography round Britain as the police try to track down the criminals includes a trip to Holy Isle and great use is made of this local landmark.


    Have you listened to any of Paul Thornley’s other performances? How does this one compare?

    I don't think so, and his style needed a bit of getting used to. He has a very clipped style, but after a while it was easy to listen to.


    If you made a film of this book, what would be the tag line be?

    Monsters are being hunted but by the Police or other monsters?


    Any additional comments?

    Not only just as good as the first two Heck novels, they seem to be getting better.

    3 of 3 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Suzanne 02/08/2014
    Suzanne 02/08/2014
    HELPFUL VOTES
    7
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    54
    11
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "A Great Listen."
    What made the experience of listening to The Killing Club the most enjoyable?

    Enjoyed the story and love Heck, the central character. Have read or listened to all this series and look forward to more from this author.


    What about Paul Thornley’s performance did you like?

    I love Paul Thornley`s narration. He can make drinking tea sound dangerous and exciting. He also narrates the Stephen Leather and Simon Kernick novels. If I know he is going to be the narrator for a book I'm interested in, I make sure to get the Audible copy.


    3 of 3 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Judith Keynsham, United Kingdom 12/07/2015
    Judith Keynsham, United Kingdom 12/07/2015
    HELPFUL VOTES
    10
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    93
    10
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "What the Heck.."

    Another fast paced, action filled chapter in the life of DS Mark Heckenburg . Very entertaining, he is fast joining my list of favourite detectives, Morse, Wallender, Sherlock etc.

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful
  •  
    caroline 21/01/2015
    caroline 21/01/2015 Member Since 2016
    HELPFUL VOTES
    136
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    63
    57
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    7
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "The audio is OK the narrator great"
    Any additional comments?

    I have now listened to four books by Paul Finch. Each one gets progressively sillier and sillier. I personally felt I was listening to Die Hard in England. Whilst our maverick copy swaps his white singlet for jeans and trainers, his agenda like that of Bruce Willis, is to save innocent people from nasty bad ones. And of course the baddies are armed to the hilt with grenades, AK's, rocket launchers, knives etc etc and yet our good old cop only has his wits and bare hands......... please why make a story so unbelievable. Paul Thornley however is the best action hero narrator and makes the most ridiculous yarn enjoyable. Enjoy the books for a bit of senseless fun and if you like action movies then you won't complain, release the maverick in you.

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful
  •  
    gillian 03/07/2015
    gillian 03/07/2015

    gillym

    HELPFUL VOTES
    17
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    57
    19
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    1
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Good fast paced story line"

    Good book - lots of action (in fact so much so that it can get a bit unbelievable at times), but still a good listen

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Linda 22/06/2015
    Linda 22/06/2015 Member Since 2010
    HELPFUL VOTES
    12
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    81
    7
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Throughly entertaining, great story"

    Probably a bit far fetched but entertaining all the same. Good narrator, love his writing style descriptive without overkill. Good old Heck.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Rob 14/05/2015
    Rob 14/05/2015
    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    6
    3
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "enjoyable gripping story"

    the story was well written and had plenty of action to keep your interest through out

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Michael 26/02/2015
    Michael 26/02/2015 Member Since 2012
    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    1
    1
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "They just get better"

    There is nothing better than finding an author who has a back list as gripping and addictive as this. DS Heckenburg is surely destined for the big screen but please don't sell out to Tom Cruise!

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    R. Long France 26/10/2016
    R. Long France 26/10/2016 Member Since 2016

    longlife

    ratings
    REVIEWS
    1
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Heck !"

    Another great Heckenburg story if a little ' far fetched ' in places. On to the next one!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Rachel 22/09/2016
    Rachel 22/09/2016
    HELPFUL VOTES
    82
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    155
    42
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    3
    2
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "One of the best!"

    Stalkers and Killing Club need to be read in order. As a pair they are two of the best Paul Finch novels.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
Sort by:
  • Book Lover
    10/07/16
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Chasing and shooting"

    Not much of a story. Without the chasing and shooting book would be a couple hours. Much to skim in this one.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.