We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.co.uk/access.
The Girl Who Lied Audiobook

The Girl Who Lied: The 2016 Best-Selling Psychological Drama

Regular Price:£12.99
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • £7.99/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

The truth hurts....

Erin and Roisin were friends until a fatal accident ruined both their lives. Now Roisin has discovered a secret - one Erin has kept for over a decade - and she's determined to make Erin pay for her lies.

Erin wants nothing to do with Roisin. She has a new life in London and no intention of going back home. Yet when her father is mysteriously and critically injured, Erin has no choice but to return and face Roisin - and her past. Erin knows if the secret of what she gave up got out, the consequences could be devastating.

When Roisin suddenly disappears, suspicion soon lands on Erin. She would do anything to protect her family, but just how far is she willing to go when time is running out?

A must-listen for fans of CL Taylor and BA Paris.

©2016 HarperCollins Publishers (P)2016 Sue Fortin

What the Critics Say

"Slowly but inexorably draws you in until you can hardly wait to discover the fate of the characters...you'll love Sue Fortin." (Sue Moorcroft)
"A twisty romantic page-turner that will keep you guessing." (Julie Cohen)
"Sue Fortin's gripping books always keep me turning the pages! Highly recommended for fans of grit-lit and suspense!" (Mandy Baggot)
"The suspense, mystery and secrets to be revealed kept me turning the pages...nerve wracking and gripping." (Rachel's Random Reads)
"Kept me intrigued right up until the end...a highly enjoyable read, filled with secrets." (By the Letter Book Reviews)

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.4 (9 )
5 star
 (5)
4 star
 (3)
3 star
 (1)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (0)
Overall
4.1 (9 )
5 star
 (3)
4 star
 (4)
3 star
 (2)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (0)
Story
4.7 (9 )
5 star
 (6)
4 star
 (3)
3 star
 (0)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (0)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Simon Waterlooville, UK 18/11/2016
    Simon Waterlooville, UK 18/11/2016 Member Since 2016

    A man with a child in his ears

    HELPFUL VOTES
    1348
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    252
    248
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    150
    17
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Something About a Girl"

    Billed as more a drama than an out and out thriller this is an engaging read from Sue Fortin. Those seeking action and thrills and spills aren't going to find them here as it is a more thoughtful exploration of relationships and the damage that can be done by secrets no matter how well hidden or how far in the past they may be. It is part romantic and part melodrama and has a few twists up its sleeve.

    The narration adds to the entertainment with Amy De Bhrún's Irish accent a pleasure to listen to. It's not perfect though, voices were dropped occasionally and the English characters came over a little as caricatures though the author is also partly to blame here.

    My abiding impression is that I enjoyed a pleasurable listen without ever being excited by the story. The time passed quickly, though for my personal tastes the ending came over just a little bit saccharin-laden. It's really more of a romantic / family drama than a genuine thriller or even "Psychological Drama" so if that's your scene this is likely a decent choice.

    2 of 5 people found this review helpful
Sort by:
  • Susan Winter
    Western New York
    24/11/16
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "So enjoyable"

    Loved this one. I rarely review books, I can't find the right words. The Girl Who Lied was charming. I'm a total sucker for the Irish accent, I've been to the town in Co Cork that is the setting for the story. I felt the characters and their lives and struggles in a way I rarely do. I enjoyed the mystery, the romance and the atmosphere. It's a light read, I suppose, by most people's standard. I, however, have listened to it twice in 2 days and enjoyed it second only to my favorite audiobook of all time, Can You Keep a Secret. I'm anxious to see if there are more books by this author available.

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful
  • Kevin
    07/12/16
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Disappointing"

    The story started out well but the plot became predictable. The way adoption and abortion were so negatively depicted was not appealing to me and I found the ending majorly disappointing. I wasn't looking for a literary masterpiece but heavy moral topics along with weak plot line and characters did not mesh well.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Jennifer
    27/11/16
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Good"

    Great book!! Very interesting story. Good narration. The accents aren't so thick that you can't understand them either.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.