We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.co.uk/access.
The 3rd Woman Audiobook

The 3rd Woman

Regular Price:£14.49
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • £7.99/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

A chilling high-concept thriller from number-one best-selling author and award-winning journalist Jonathan Freedland. Perfect for fans of Robert Harris.

She can't save her sister. Journalist Madison Webb is obsessed with exposing lies and corruption. But she never thought she would be investigating her own sister's murder.

She can't trust the police. Madison refuses to accept the official line that Abigail's death was an isolated crime. She uncovers evidence that suggests that Abi was the third victim in a series of killings that's been hushed up as part of a major conspiracy.

She can expose the truth. In a United States that has yielded to the People's Republic of China, corruption is rife - the government dictates what the "truth" is. With her life on the line, Madison must give up the story or face the consequences....

©2015 Jonathan Freedland (P)2015 HarperCollins Publishers Limited

What the Critics Say

"Nobody does the high-IQ, high-octane thriller better than Jonathan Freedland." (Tony Parsons)

"Boldly imaginative...a magnetic heroine in a heart-racing story." (A D Miller, author of Snowdrops)

"Shifting his focus from hi-tech present day conspiracies to a very dark chapter of the second world war, he has proved he can more than rub shoulders with the likes of John Le Carré and Robert Harris." (Mirror)

"Pantheon is a propulsive, satisfying novel which burns with moral indignation, earning the author his place at the thriller-writers' high table." (Guardian)

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

3.9 (10 )
5 star
 (3)
4 star
 (4)
3 star
 (2)
2 star
 (1)
1 star
 (0)
Overall
3.7 (10 )
5 star
 (2)
4 star
 (5)
3 star
 (1)
2 star
 (2)
1 star
 (0)
Story
3.7 (10 )
5 star
 (3)
4 star
 (2)
3 star
 (4)
2 star
 (1)
1 star
 (0)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Wras 03/08/2015
    Wras 03/08/2015 Member Since 2016

    Kildonan by the sea

    HELPFUL VOTES
    1552
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    318
    230
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    134
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "California dreamin' with China on my mind"

    Our heroine Madison Webb is an award winning LA Times reporter, she exists in a near future where China controls parts of America the indebted giant. A place where crime, politics and power cross every line in society and suddenly touch her life, her family in irreparable ways.

    A modern who done it, that delivers thrills, and twists of plot to the very end. With an interesting background, and believable characters that inhabit a possible world that would disturb the american sense of patriotism.

    A good Summer read that entertains, and poses a few questions about our changing world.

    Expertly narrated by Jennifer Woodward, with the best voice Characterization by a female reader I have heard in an audiobook.

    4 of 4 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.