We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.co.uk/access.
Painkiller Audiobook

Painkiller

Regular Price:£19.99
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • £7.99/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

I cannot go on like this. I feel like such a burden to you. You are young and can start again. You deserve that chance. By the time you read this, I will be dead. Do not grieve for me, for I am now without pain. Yours truly forever, Monica.

Monica suffers from chronic neuropathic pain. Every second of her life is spent in agony, and she is coping with it the best she can. However, there are whole years of her life which are a blur to her.

But when she finds a suicide note, written in her handwriting, she begins to question everything. She has no memory of writing it - so who did? And if someone tried to kill her once, what's to say they won't try again?

A listen-in-one-sitting, edge-of-your-seat psychological thriller, perfect for fans of The Girl on the Train, I Let You Go and Before I Go to Sleep.

©2015 NJ Fountain (P)2015 Hachette Audio

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.0 (53 )
5 star
 (24)
4 star
 (16)
3 star
 (7)
2 star
 (3)
1 star
 (3)
Overall
4.0 (48 )
5 star
 (23)
4 star
 (12)
3 star
 (7)
2 star
 (3)
1 star
 (3)
Story
4.0 (48 )
5 star
 (23)
4 star
 (11)
3 star
 (9)
2 star
 (3)
1 star
 (2)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    miss joanne jones 13/03/2016
    HELPFUL VOTES
    3
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    1
    1
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Was addicted to this book from the first chapter"

    Absolutely brilliant book from start to finish, couldn't stop listening, great storyline, with lots of suprising twists, thoroughly enjoyed it.

    3 of 3 people found this review helpful
  •  
    katy leicester 08/03/2016
    katy leicester 08/03/2016 Member Since 2015

    Female 35 from leicestershire

    HELPFUL VOTES
    5
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    34
    3
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "loved this book"

    narrators very good. good story very real about the pain I have similar condition and could emphasise with the main character. few twists which I love in a book overall a good little read

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Lulu M 04/03/2016
    Lulu M 04/03/2016 Member Since 2015
    HELPFUL VOTES
    20
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    90
    9
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    1
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Unexpected and entertaining"

    Really enjoyed this thriller. An unusual plot with unexpected twists to keep you guessing. The narration was good although somewhat loud and dramatic in parts so you can't relax whilst listening to this one !

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful
  •  
    mezzaninedoor GREAT YARMOUTH, United Kingdom 27/02/2016
    mezzaninedoor GREAT YARMOUTH, United Kingdom 27/02/2016 Member Since 2016

    mezzaninedoor

    HELPFUL VOTES
    2
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    141
    4
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    5
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "An intriguing beguling book"

    This book has been a beguiling joy to read. i thought it would be about the Detective but it was about a triangle of characters performed brilliantly by Nicola Bryant & John Banks. There are twists and turns and mysteries to be pondered. The prose that explains Monicas pain which is the crux of the book is exceptional and brings the reader into Monicas inner world. Recommended.

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Katie D 02/07/2016
    Katie D 02/07/2016 Member Since 2016
    HELPFUL VOTES
    8
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    3
    2
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Great story"

    This was my first audio book and I must say I thoroughly enjoyed the story. The narration however was slightly irritating - from now on will listen to samples prior to purchase! Overall a great listen, would thoroughly recommend.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Hazel 09/03/2016
    Hazel 09/03/2016
    HELPFUL VOTES
    10
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    61
    32
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "worth a listen"
    Any additional comments?

    Really unusual twist but the ending seemed like it was written by a different person. The first 3/4 of this book she talks about the "relenting horrible pain" she suffers and at the end she refers to it as "warm and glorious" Hmmmm a bit odd. none the less still a good read.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    marie Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom 24/04/2016
    marie Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom 24/04/2016 Member Since 2016
    HELPFUL VOTES
    4
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    3
    3
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Horrible"

    This is an awful book, the narration is terrible, the language is disgusting and you need a very good volume control for it. Wish I had not read it.

    0 of 3 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.