We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.co.uk/access.
Mickey Slips Audiobook

Mickey Slips: Tyler Cunningham Shorts

Regular Price:£5.39
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • £7.99/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

Fans of Carl Hiaasen, Lawrence Block, and John Sandford will enjoy Tyler Cunningham's latest adventure for the tight writing, clever (MacGyver-esque) approach to problem-solving, and for another chance to explore the mind of this unique protagonist, first introduced in Jamie Sheffield's novel, Here Be Monsters.

Tyler Cunningham is a detective like no other. He can mimic humanity, but in most cases fails utterly to understand people, why they do the things they do, or act in the ways that they do. His saving grace is an insatiable hunger for knowledge that combines with an ability to make connections from a series of seemingly unrelated data-points that other people miss; this continually pulls him into other peoples' problems, where his focus and unique perceptual abilities allow him to solve puzzles that others cannot see in ways that nobody else could conceive.

Mickey Slips opens with Tyler neck deep in someone else's problem when a father-figure from his past texts him in serious trouble. Tyler drops everything to get Mickey out of his jam. What follows is a fascinating glimpse into the relationship between these two, sandwiched in with a sleek and nasty mix of sex, blackmail, hi-tech shenanigans, a bag of sawn-off shotguns, and fantastic barbeque.

©2013 Jamie Sheffield (P)2013 Jamie Sheffield

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

5.0 (1 )
5 star
 (1)
4 star
 (0)
3 star
 (0)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (0)
Overall
5.0 (1 )
5 star
 (1)
4 star
 (0)
3 star
 (0)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (0)
Story
5.0 (1 )
5 star
 (1)
4 star
 (0)
3 star
 (0)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (0)
Performance


There are no listener reviews for this title yet.

Sort by:
  • RLB
    Adirondacks, NY
    08/12/13
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Unique twist on crime drama"

    Mickey Slips is an engaging short story with a very intriguing main character. Tyler Cunningham is a rogue detective who falls clearly on the autism spectrum, which gives him the unique ability to carry out his missions with a dispassionate and calculating effectiveness. In this story, one of Tyler's closest friends gets himself into a spot of trouble and Tyler finds himself in the role of something like a "closer." I particularly enjoyed the audio version of this book. The reader sounded exactly how I expected Tyler to sound, and I was disappointed when it ended (a sure sign of a good book!). The short format was very tight and succinct, which mirrored the main character's style and worked very well. One does not often read books written from the perspective of people with autism disorders, which made the story that much more interesting.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  • Manon
    Jay, NY, United States
    26/11/13
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Attention holder"
    Would you listen to Mickey Slips again? Why?

    I would listen to Mickey Slips again because I was living the story as it was being told and I now want to listen to remember.


    Did the plot keep you on the edge of your seat? How?

    I listened to it in one straight sitting and it kept me engaged. It doesn't hurt that Thornton has a fabulous voice. One of the things that kept me listening is that this story shows a human connection Tyler has that is important to him.


    Which character – as performed by Douglas Thornton – was your favorite?

    Naturally I completely enjoy Tyler as we learn more about his social interactions, or lack thereof. I love the way he sees things as black or white and the way he processes the gray areas.


    Any additional comments?

    Loving the escapades of Tyler Cunningham in my back yard!

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  • Tara A. Palen
    Smithtown, NY
    19/11/13
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "LOVED this story!"
    Where does Mickey Slips rank among all the audiobooks you’ve listened to so far?

    I have not listened to many audio books, but Mickey Slips has turned me into a convert. I look forward to many more!


    What did you like best about this story?

    Last year I had the pleasure of reading Jamie Sheffield's "Here Be Monsters" where I was introduced to the world of Tyler Cunningham. It was a very happy introduction, and I've been anxious to reacquaint with him and his world. Tyler is one of the most unique protagonists I have ever followed. He is a combination Macgyver/Sherlock Holmes with unique talents and abilities, operating on the outskirts of the law, and his quirky personality traits and behaviors just add to his overall (unlikely) charm. The setting of Saranac Lake, NY and the surrounding area again comes vividly to life. What I especially liked best about "Mickey Slips" was that this was a perfect example of the typical kind of "cases" that Tyler works on. If you are unfamiliar with the character, this is a great way to meet him, and if you are familiar with him from the last full length book, this is exactly what you want to wet your appetite.


    What does Douglas Thornton bring to the story that you wouldn’t experience if you just read the book?

    Douglas Thornton brought a wonderful depth to the story telling. His almost deadpan like delivery of some of Tyler's internal monologues (about his numbered smiles for example, or having a plan "87% completed") were spot on. It was a delightful way to experience this story, and I very much look forward to hearing him do more!


    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  • Kathy
    Ferndale, WA, United States
    16/11/13
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Author Jamie Sheffield has a winner!"
    Would you listen to Mickey Slips again? Why?

    the main character is unique and easy to follow


    What was one of the most memorable moments of Mickey Slips?

    when I "see" the wheels turning in Tyler Cunningham's brain when he develops a plan to help his friend.


    What about Douglas Thornton’s performance did you like?

    his voice is clear and it fits my idea of Tyler's character. Jamie Sheffield has a very unique writing style and Mr. Thornton does an excellent job of following that pace.


    If you were to make a film of this book, what would the tag line be?

    Under-the-radar sleuth and socially-awkward Tyler Cunningham saves the day ... again.


    Any additional comments?

    CLEVER, ENGAGING - author Jamie Sheffield's character, Tyler Cunningham, never fails to entertain and engage the reader. This book is no exception. In this adventure the quirky, under-the-radar sleuth, Tyler, sets out to foil a scam perpetuated on a dear friend. Although I own this book, my reading time has been cut short lately, so I listened to the audio book version. The narrator was excellent, a perfect voice match for my idea of the very resourceful, socially-awkward, intelligent, Coke-a-holic person that IS Tyler Cunningham. If Mr. Sheffield continues to produce his books in audio, I will continue to listen.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.