We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.co.uk/access.
Luckiest Girl Alive Audiobook

Luckiest Girl Alive

Regular Price:£21.99
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • £7.99/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

You can run from your past, but the truth will always find you.

Luckiest Girl Alive is an intense, compulsive debut thriller, described by Reese Witherspoon as 'the kind of book that grabs you and doesn't let go'.

Now a New York Times best seller and optioned for film by Reese Witherspoon and her production partner, Bruna Papandrea, in conjunction with Lionsgate Films.

Her perfect life is a perfect lie....

Luckiest Girl Alive by Jessica Knoll is an audacious debut thriller that will appeal to fans of Gillian Flynn, Paula Hawkins and Jodi Picoult.

Ani FaNelli is the woman who has it all: the glamorous job, the designer wardrobe, the handsome and rich fiancé. But behind her sharp edges and meticulously crafted facade lies the darkest of pasts....

When a documentary producer invites Ani to tell her side of the chilling and violent incident that took place when she was a teenager at the prestigious Bradley school, she hopes it will be an opportunity to prove how far she's turned her life around since then. She'll even let the production company film her lavish wedding, the final step in her transformation. But as the wedding and filming converge, Ani's past threatens to come back and haunt her. And as her immaculate veneer starts to crack, she is forced to question: will breaking her silence destroy all that she has worked for - or,will it, at long last, set Ani free?

©2015 Jessica Knoll (P)2015 Simon and Schuster US

What the Critics Say

"...definitely, definitely read it."('Why you need to read Luckiest Girl Alive', Stylist Magazine)

"There's a vogue at present for female narrators who seem designed to be utterly hateful and, at first, heroine Ani seems like a superficial Manhattan princess, interested only in designer labels and being the thinnest woman in the room. But, as this multi-layered thriller develops, the dark shadows from her traumatic adolescence are laid bare, and a brooding sense of impending horror begins to ooze through this narrative. Add a cracker of a plot revelation half way through, and it becomes clear that this classy debut will appeal to those who like thrillers with sharp edges." ('Staying In or Going Out', The Sunday Mirror)

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

3.9 (123 )
5 star
 (48)
4 star
 (33)
3 star
 (28)
2 star
 (6)
1 star
 (8)
Overall
3.8 (110 )
5 star
 (38)
4 star
 (36)
3 star
 (22)
2 star
 (8)
1 star
 (6)
Story
4.2 (109 )
5 star
 (48)
4 star
 (38)
3 star
 (19)
2 star
 (1)
1 star
 (3)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Trish New Malden, United Kingdom 02/03/2016
    Trish New Malden, United Kingdom 02/03/2016 Member Since 2012
    HELPFUL VOTES
    12
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    7
    6
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Hard to empathise with main character"
    Is there anything you would change about this book?

    For me the lead character would have to be more likeable


    What was the most interesting aspect of this story? The least interesting?

    The basic story line was good and the switching from past to present worked well


    What does Madeleine Maby bring to the story that you wouldn’t experience if you had only read the book?

    I thought the narrator was excellent


    Do you think Luckiest Girl Alive needs a follow-up book? Why or why not?

    No but I would try another novel by the same author


    Any additional comments?

    I enjoyed the narrative style but found the character of Tiffany/ Ani so unpleasant. I see a previous reviewer said she loved Tiffany so there we are, it's all up to you. It was a good premise for a novel although it was fairly easy to guess what was going to happen

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Lena 16/08/2016
    Lena 16/08/2016 Member Since 2016
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    1
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "A good holiday listen/read!"

    This was a good book to listen to on holiday. I had to speed up the reader slightly as I found it a little slow in pace.
    The main character is deliciously hateful and really what kept me listening.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    FKblue 18/07/2016
    FKblue 18/07/2016 Member Since 2016
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    2
    2
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Great Summertime read."

    Great narrator's voice, really suits the lead character. If you liked 'Gone Girl' and 'The Girl on the Train', you'll like this too.
    Highly recommend.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    MichelleC 24/04/2016
    MichelleC 24/04/2016 Member Since 2015
    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    32
    5
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "What a great listen"

    Loved it. Tiffany seems to be an unlikeable character but her story is compulsive listening. I would definitely recommend it.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    mrs 21/01/2016
    mrs 21/01/2016 Member Since 2015
    HELPFUL VOTES
    9
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    8
    7
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    1
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Brilliant !!"

    I loved Tiffany and her story brought me to tears at points. Very realistic and very true of this age character... Well done

    1 of 2 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Ova UK 04/05/2016
    Ova UK 04/05/2016 Member Since 2016

    merope

    HELPFUL VOTES
    2
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    10
    8
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    4
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Very Disappointing and nothing like Gone Girl"
    What disappointed you about Luckiest Girl Alive?

    The book cover compares it with Flynn and Gone Girl, which this book is nowhere near. It does not have any twist at all. It's just a story about a very shallow character.If you are after a surprise ending, gripping read just skip this book, because it does not deliver a surprise end, any twist or a gripping story.


    Has Luckiest Girl Alive put you off other books in this genre?

    Yes.


    What does Madeleine Maby bring to the story that you wouldn’t experience if you had only read the book?

    The performer was quite good. Maybe the only best thing about this audio book.


    You didn’t love this book--but did it have any redeeming qualities?

    I am sorry but I really didn't like it. I doubt anyone with a taste for fiction/literature will enjoy this book.


    Any additional comments?

    Honestly, I felt like I am tricked into a book which I’ll never pick up if it was not ‘compared’ to Gone Girl on the cover. Really disappointed.

    1 of 2 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.