We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.co.uk/access.
Local Girl Missing Audiobook

Local Girl Missing

Regular Price:£25.99
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • £7.99/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

From the author of The Sisters - one of the best-selling debuts of 2015 - comes a tense psychological thriller ripped straight from the headlines....

Twenty years ago 21-year-old Sophie Collier vanished one night. She left nothing behind but a trainer on the old pier - and a hole in the heart of her best friend, Francesca. Now a body's been found. And Francesca's drawn back to the seaside town she's tried to forget.

Perhaps the truth of what happened to Sophie will finally come out. Yet Francesca is beginning to wish she hadn't returned. Everywhere she turns are ghosts from her past. The same old faces and familiar haunts of her youth. But if someone knows what really happened to Sophie that night then now's the time to find out - isn't it?

Except sometimes discovering the truth can cost you everything you hold dear - your family, your sanity and even your life....

©2016 Claire Douglas (P)2016 Penguin AudioBooks

What the Critics Say

"Compelling and page-turning, wonderfully written and impossible to second guess with a brilliant twist." (Debbie Howells, best-selling author of Richard and Judy selection The Bones of You)

Praise for The Sisters:
"Grippingly claustrophobic and unpredictable on every page: perfect for fans of The Girl on the Train." (Marie Claire)
"Tension oozes from every page...[an] addictive read that will leave you on the edge of your seat." (Sun)
"As soon as I finished the first page, I knew I wouldn't be able to put this down.... I thoroughly enjoyed it." (Good Housekeeping)
"Unforgettably dark and complex." (Woman & Home)

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

3.9 (38 )
5 star
 (15)
4 star
 (11)
3 star
 (6)
2 star
 (4)
1 star
 (2)
Overall
3.8 (36 )
5 star
 (14)
4 star
 (11)
3 star
 (4)
2 star
 (5)
1 star
 (2)
Story
4.2 (37 )
5 star
 (22)
4 star
 (6)
3 star
 (4)
2 star
 (3)
1 star
 (2)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Miss Lesley Davidson 09/11/2016 Member Since 2016
    HELPFUL VOTES
    2
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    5
    4
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "great thriller."

    great murder mystery story, intriguing twists and turns. very well read and performed. loved it. Couldn't stop listening

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Amazon Customer 30/10/2016 Member Since 2016
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    6
    6
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Fantastic"

    I loved this book and couldn't stop listening to it. The narrators were the best I've heard and the story was fantastic a great plot.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    caroline thorpe 16/10/2016 Member Since 2014
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    1
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Great read"

    Really good book. Held my attention to the end.
    Fast moving story, skillfully narrated.
    I would definitely recommend this one

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Kate Harrott 08/10/2016
    Kate Harrott 08/10/2016 Member Since 2016
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    1
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Disappointed"

    Hyped up a bit too much. Women pretending to be men doesn't work. Story was quite obvious.

    0 of 1 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.