We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.co.uk/access.
Lie with Me Audiobook

Lie with Me

Regular Price:£19.99
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • £7.99/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

The truth can be deadly....

The dazzling new suspense novel from the author of Remember Me This Way. Twisty, tense, impossible to turn off psychological suspense for fans of I Let You Go and The Widow.

It starts with a lie. The kind we've all told - to a former acquaintance we can't quite place but still, for some reason, feel the need to impress. The story of our life, embellished for the benefit of the happily married lawyer with the kids and the lovely home.

And the next thing you know, you're having dinner at their house and accepting an invitation to join them on holiday - swept up in their perfect life, the kind you always dreamed of....

Which turns out to be less than perfect. But by the time you're trapped and sweating in the relentless Greek sun, burning to escape the tension all around you - by the time you start to realise that however painful the truth might be, it's the lies that cause the real damage - well, by then it could just be too late.

©2016 Sabine Durrant (P)2016 Hodder & Stoughton

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.2 (240 )
5 star
 (112)
4 star
 (85)
3 star
 (32)
2 star
 (6)
1 star
 (5)
Overall
4.2 (218 )
5 star
 (102)
4 star
 (76)
3 star
 (24)
2 star
 (12)
1 star
 (4)
Story
4.4 (219 )
5 star
 (133)
4 star
 (57)
3 star
 (21)
2 star
 (5)
1 star
 (3)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    janet porth, United Kingdom 14/07/2016
    janet porth, United Kingdom 14/07/2016 Member Since 2012
    HELPFUL VOTES
    17
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    204
    22
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    1
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Lie with me"

    When I thought the description sounded promising, I checked the reviews - there were none!
    Surprising as there were many ratings - indeed averaging 4+stArs.
    I took a chance and do not regret the credit. Increasingly uncomfortable atmosphere and credible narration.

    7 of 8 people found this review helpful
  •  
    MR 16/07/2016
    MR 16/07/2016 Member Since 2015
    HELPFUL VOTES
    29
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    11
    10
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "brilliant!"

    As soon as I started this, I was hooked. Narrator perfect in role. Dark story, impending doom feeling from start to finish, redemption too late etc. would recommend to anyone.

    3 of 3 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Linda 24/07/2016
    Linda 24/07/2016 Member Since 2015
    HELPFUL VOTES
    8
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    4
    4
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    1
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Atmospheric!"

    Lie with me, has all the components of 'hook and twist' the story flows and paints such a graphic picture of its characters, surroundings and malice throughout. Excellently narrated!

    4 of 6 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Jeeds LIVERPOOL, United Kingdom 24/11/2016
    Jeeds LIVERPOOL, United Kingdom 24/11/2016

    I am a fiction fan. My tastes are varied but I like thrillers esp. psychological & I also like Jilly Cooper who writes animals fabulously :)

    HELPFUL VOTES
    41
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    99
    23
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    1
    2
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Unusual thriller; slow burner"

    Struggled to get into this novel at first as the main character is a bit of a creep. However, the last few hours were really gripping. I loved Sabine Durrant's last two books but whilst this one is good it is my least favourite of her novels.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Junie 01/11/2016
    Junie 01/11/2016 Member Since 2015
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    7
    6
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Compelling listening"
    Would you consider the audio edition of Lie with Me to be better than the print version?

    It was wonderfully narrated, it gave depth to the storyline


    What other book might you compare Lie with Me to, and why?

    It is similar to many books in that it slowly reveals it's characters as harbouring dark secrets and lies and ultimately being different people from the ones portrayed at the start of the book.


    What about Kirk Bage’s performance did you like?

    He managed to tell the story and convey beautifully an undercurrent of something sinister.


    Did you have an emotional reaction to this book? Did it make you laugh or cry?

    No, I just enjoyed the story


    Any additional comments?

    Well worth a listen, although a stronger finish would have been more satisfying.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Christine 14/10/2016
    Christine 14/10/2016 Member Since 2015
    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    23
    14
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Outstandingly"

    Lie with me is a superbly crafted story, beautifully narrated. It made me do something u have never done before.. As soon as I finished it I started it all over again and listened to it right through. Definitely read this book!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    janice wildchild newman 02/10/2016 Member Since 2015
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    2
    2
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Very cleverly observed and put together."

    Very cleverly put together, quite a frightening idea. I really enjoyed this book and it was well read.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    marina swain 27/09/2016
    marina swain 27/09/2016 Member Since 2016
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    4
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "A must listen..."

    Pleasantly surprised as how much I enjoyed this book. I do recommend it for an easy listen.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Jenny 21/09/2016
    Jenny 21/09/2016 Member Since 2014

    Since I discovered Audible I have become addicted. I like my fiction with a twist. I'm a fan of soft sci-fi and literary fantasy.

    HELPFUL VOTES
    81
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    80
    64
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    11
    2
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Terrific slow burner"
    What did you like most about Lie with Me?

    I enjoyed this story. It was dark and featured a truly reprehensible protagonist. The story was interesting even without the big reveal. The characters were well-drawn and compelling.


    Who was your favorite character and why?

    Paul Morris - deliciously hateful.


    Which scene did you most enjoy?

    Paul being caught out!


    Was this a book you wanted to listen to all in one sitting?

    Not really, but I was keen to get back to it.


    Any additional comments?

    The ending was a little underwhelming, I think it could have featured more drama, one final twist, but the story was engrossing enough to make up for it.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Katie Pryce 13/09/2016
    Katie Pryce 13/09/2016 Member Since 2015
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    5
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "defintley worth a listen!"

    Very good. keeps you guessing the whole way. I would recommend it to anyone! !

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.