We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.co.uk/access.
Gone Without a Trace Audiobook

Gone Without a Trace

Regular Price:£19.99
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • £7.99/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

Gone Without a Trace by Mary Torjussen is a chilling psychological thriller about a woman whose boyfriend has vanished. Fans of I Let You Go and The Girl on the Train will be gripped.

No one ever disappears completely....

You leave for work one morning. Another day in your normal life. Until you come home to discover that your boyfriend has gone. His belongings have disappeared. He hasn't been at work for weeks. It's as if he never existed. But that's not possible, is it? And if he has gone without a trace, why do you still feel that someone is watching you?

©2016 Mary Torjussen (P)2016 Headline Digital

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.2 (52 )
5 star
 (25)
4 star
 (18)
3 star
 (6)
2 star
 (1)
1 star
 (2)
Overall
4.3 (47 )
5 star
 (26)
4 star
 (12)
3 star
 (7)
2 star
 (1)
1 star
 (1)
Story
4.2 (46 )
5 star
 (25)
4 star
 (12)
3 star
 (5)
2 star
 (2)
1 star
 (2)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    P. Coleman London 27/11/2016
    P. Coleman London 27/11/2016 Member Since 2017
    HELPFUL VOTES
    19
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    11
    11
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Wow! Totally mesmerising"

    It's really hard to do this justice when I'm still recovering from so many twists and turns.

    Very likeable main character who was expertly portrayed. Possibly the best I've ever listened to and certainly the least predictable. A great antidote to the previous story I listened to.

    I actually prefer the accents to only be used when characters are speaking and not for their thoughts or the narration but I imagine everyone feels happiest listening to a voice they can relate to which for me is female southerner.

    I'll definitely be looking out for both the author and narrator in future - excellent work from both.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Ms 22/11/2016
    Ms 22/11/2016

    I did my degree in English, so now I prefer thrillers, Krimis, SciFi, and anything with vampires. Faves incl Terry Pratchett & Iain Banks.

    HELPFUL VOTES
    7
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    13
    10
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    1
    2
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "You think it's one thing, but..."

    I'm very wary of plot spoilers in thrillers and 'detective stories 'so I will be circumspect.

    Hannah comes home from a work trip to Oxford and finds her world has turned upside down. She is the detective in this story, piecing together what has happened. But all is not as it seems...

    I can't say more than that for fear of spoiling the denouement, but I can assure you that this book has a plot that will keep you on tenterhooks all the way through. It's immaculately written and paced - just when I wanted to shriek at Hannah, it moved on again and left me wanting more.

    It's twisty mind-bending stuff, and if you liked Gone Girl you'll like this.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Jools 22/11/2016
    Jools 22/11/2016
    HELPFUL VOTES
    25
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    73
    18
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "BUNNY BOILER"

    Good read excellent narration, a book that should be read by all especially the young. Well done.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    L. Fuchs Scottish Highlands 08/11/2016
    L. Fuchs Scottish Highlands 08/11/2016 Member Since 2016

    grandmalisa

    HELPFUL VOTES
    22
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    17
    7
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "The weirdest narration ever?"

    I am unable to get through this book because the narrator seems to think that a first person narrator thinks, writes and texts in one accent (in this case RP, Home Counties, middle class) and then speaks in a completely different accent (here it's straight out of Brookside - working-class Liverpudlian). THIS IS JUST WEIRD and renders the book un-listenable to.

    Does the actress think that those of us with regional accents think and write in a nice RP agent like hers and only resort to our regional accents when we speak? Did no-one else in the production of this book think this was plain weird?

    Unfortunately for Mary Torjussen, the book is going back.

    3 of 4 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Neen Machine 21/02/2017
    Neen Machine 21/02/2017 Member Since 2017
    HELPFUL VOTES
    5
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    28
    4
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Horrible, horrible accent!"

    The narration was so bad that it detracts from the interesting and surprising plotline, such a shame.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Crazymazy 18/02/2017
    Crazymazy 18/02/2017 Member Since 2016
    HELPFUL VOTES
    6
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    6
    6
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Mostly enjoyable "

    The beginning somewhat unrealistic and over egged, but for most part I enjoyed it. I kinda worked most of it out but enjoyed the surprises when they surfaced. The disappointed end didn't really spoil it.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Jenna Somerset 08/02/2017
    Jenna Somerset 08/02/2017 Member Since 2015

    redziggy

    HELPFUL VOTES
    3
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    13
    6
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Great but the ending lets it down"
    Would you try another book written by Mary Torjussen or narrated by Emily Pennant-Rea?

    Not sure, i was so gripped but i felt the ending was a let down


    What was one of the most memorable moments of Gone Without a Trace?

    the build up of the story


    What does Emily Pennant-Rea bring to the story that you wouldn’t experience if you had only read the book?

    yes


    If this book were a film would you go see it?

    no


    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Patricia 06/02/2017
    Patricia 06/02/2017 Member Since 2016
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    13
    2
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Great premise but felt cheated by cop-out twist"
    What did you like best about Gone Without a Trace? What did you like least?

    The mysterious beginning ... a man vanishes without leaving a trace of his existence .... great set up wondered how it would all pan out and then felt cheated. So best the great set up and some lovely pacy writing and excellent narration .... worst the twist in the tale explanation. I returned the last book I got as the same tired cheating cliche ... there is a mystery but then oops turns out the narrator has had mental health problems previously and now we have to question is this a psychological thriller or just rather sad inner ravings from a psychiatric patient .... please please please more thrillers which do not pivot solely on the sanity of the protagonist. I just returned "The stranger Inside"for the same reasons and intend to ask for a refund for this too. Shame as I enjoyed the writing, the narrator though the Scouse character accents did seem to be at odds with the main narration which I enjoyed and the dramatisation was excellent.


    What will your next listen be?

    Another psychological thriller - maybe The Woman Next Door or The Sisters .... or change of pace with Black Rabbit Hall. I only wish I could find anything to compare with Magpie Murders which was just fabulous! No idea who is publishing these disappointing thrillers but it seems like one in four is not disappointing but can recommend In a Dark dark Wood, Behind her eyes, The Woman In Cabin 10,any of the Robert Galbreith trilogy Cuckoo's Calling, Silk Worm and Career of Evil, especially the first two which I enjoyed very very much,The Girl Before, Rebound, The Widow, Lie with Me, Local Girl Mising, The Marriage Lie, The Last Breath - anything by the wonderful Tana French and Try Not to Breath and Dear Amy also worth a listen


    Which scene did you most enjoy?

    All of the mysterious set up was very intriguing and well written .... and most of the book very good .....but did not deliver with a disappointing and arduous plot reveal which is so similar to many others not in content but in overall theme - as in we should have never bothered to believe a word we had been told which is a bit of a cheat in a mystery thriller as far more fun to have been given a fighting chance to have solved the mystery instead of just had the wool pulled and led a merry dance only to find out much ado about nothing except personal delusions.


    Do you think Gone Without a Trace needs a follow-up book? Why or why not?

    No I think the themes and characters have been amply explored. But I would love to read another book by the same author, similarly well written with a similarly intriguing plot but with a more plausible and well thought out ending.


    Any additional comments?

    Well written, great narration and would love to hear more books read by Emily Pennant Rae - just the plot twist seems a bit of a lazy cop out to me. Liked the author, loved the set up but just felt cheated when all explained with the denouement and felt what a waste of time it had been listening. much much better written than so many but just such a similar weasel of a plot reveal. Please authors read some quality and classic mysteries which have well thought out plots which do not depend on fugue states, repressed memories, madness and plots which are as annoying as "A masked man on a horse kissed me and stole my bag then vanished in a flash of lightening ... er or wait a minute did I mention I am a bit bonkers and maybe that never happened? "

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Nicky Birmingham 02/02/2017 Member Since 2016
    HELPFUL VOTES
    4
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    14
    10
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Fantastic!"

    This book had me gripped from start to finish. The story was not what I had anticipated and was so well performed that I couldn't leave it alone.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Julie Edmonds Cheshire, UK 02/02/2017
    Julie Edmonds Cheshire, UK 02/02/2017 Member Since 2013
    HELPFUL VOTES
    6
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    37
    4
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Mixed Feelings"

    Very strange. The narration (thinking in one accent and speaking in the strongest Liverpool accent I've ever heard) completely ruined the book for me. I couldn't focus on the story due to the constant flipping of accents. The story itself was OK. A bit slow I thought but not a bad story. I didn't like the female lead much but this may be partly the accent thing. I would listen to another book by Mary Torjussen, but not by this narrator.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.