We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.co.uk/access.
Gone Without a Trace Audiobook

Gone Without a Trace

Regular Price:£19.99
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • £7.99/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

Gone Without a Trace by Mary Torjussen is a chilling psychological thriller about a woman whose boyfriend has vanished. Fans of I Let You Go and The Girl on the Train will be gripped.

No one ever disappears completely....

You leave for work one morning. Another day in your normal life. Until you come home to discover that your boyfriend has gone. His belongings have disappeared. He hasn't been at work for weeks. It's as if he never existed. But that's not possible, is it? And if he has gone without a trace, why do you still feel that someone is watching you?

©2016 Mary Torjussen (P)2016 Headline Digital

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.5 (28 )
5 star
 (18)
4 star
 (6)
3 star
 (3)
2 star
 (1)
1 star
 (0)
Overall
4.6 (24 )
5 star
 (17)
4 star
 (5)
3 star
 (2)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (0)
Story
4.3 (24 )
5 star
 (15)
4 star
 (5)
3 star
 (2)
2 star
 (1)
1 star
 (1)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    L. Fuchs Scottish Highlands 08/11/2016
    L. Fuchs Scottish Highlands 08/11/2016 Member Since 2016

    grandmalisa

    HELPFUL VOTES
    21
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    17
    7
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "The weirdest narration ever?"

    I am unable to get through this book because the narrator seems to think that a first person narrator thinks, writes and texts in one accent (in this case RP, Home Counties, middle class) and then speaks in a completely different accent (here it's straight out of Brookside - working-class Liverpudlian). THIS IS JUST WEIRD and renders the book un-listenable to.

    Does the actress think that those of us with regional accents think and write in a nice RP agent like hers and only resort to our regional accents when we speak? Did no-one else in the production of this book think this was plain weird?

    Unfortunately for Mary Torjussen, the book is going back.

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful
  •  
    P. Coleman London 27/11/2016
    P. Coleman London 27/11/2016 Member Since 2015
    HELPFUL VOTES
    18
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    11
    11
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Wow! Totally mesmerising"

    It's really hard to do this justice when I'm still recovering from so many twists and turns.

    Very likeable main character who was expertly portrayed. Possibly the best I've ever listened to and certainly the least predictable. A great antidote to the previous story I listened to.

    I actually prefer the accents to only be used when characters are speaking and not for their thoughts or the narration but I imagine everyone feels happiest listening to a voice they can relate to which for me is female southerner.

    I'll definitely be looking out for both the author and narrator in future - excellent work from both.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Ms 22/11/2016
    Ms 22/11/2016

    I did my degree in English, so now I prefer thrillers, Krimis, SciFi, and anything with vampires. Faves incl Terry Pratchett & Iain Banks.

    HELPFUL VOTES
    7
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    13
    10
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    1
    2
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "You think it's one thing, but..."

    I'm very wary of plot spoilers in thrillers and 'detective stories 'so I will be circumspect.

    Hannah comes home from a work trip to Oxford and finds her world has turned upside down. She is the detective in this story, piecing together what has happened. But all is not as it seems...

    I can't say more than that for fear of spoiling the denouement, but I can assure you that this book has a plot that will keep you on tenterhooks all the way through. It's immaculately written and paced - just when I wanted to shriek at Hannah, it moved on again and left me wanting more.

    It's twisty mind-bending stuff, and if you liked Gone Girl you'll like this.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Jools 22/11/2016
    Jools 22/11/2016
    HELPFUL VOTES
    20
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    62
    16
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "BUNNY BOILER"

    Good read excellent narration, a book that should be read by all especially the young. Well done.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    taurusgb 11/01/2017
    taurusgb 11/01/2017

    book lover

    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    6
    2
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Amazing Book - completely enthralling"

    This is very well written and has a brilliantly inventive plot with excellent characterisation. It held my attention so well that I couldn't stop listening. I finished it in a day by carrying my MP3 player and speaker EVERYWHERE I went, even shopping, when I swapped my speaker for headphones, so loath was I to switch it off. An amazing debut by Mary Torjussen and I hope very much that we don't have to wait too long for a second book.

    As to the narrator..... All I can say is - Accents! she would have done much better to have read the story straight through without trying to add merseyside accents to the characters. They were written as well educated and sharp - to hear them ALL saying "wha?" (missing t intended), in a liverpool intonation was irritating and did not fit with any of the character types. If I had written this book I would have been most upset to hear this, as I am sure it was not what the author intended.

    100% recommended!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    c WALSALL, United Kingdom 28/12/2016
    c WALSALL, United Kingdom 28/12/2016 Member Since 2014
    HELPFUL VOTES
    95
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    289
    44
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    12
    7
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Slow to start but what a nice twist in the tale!"
    Would you consider the audio edition of Gone Without a Trace to be better than the print version?

    Haven't read this so couldn't possibly compare.


    Who was your favorite character and why?

    Didn't much care for any of them! Still, I think that fact perhaps make this novel even more unusual. Maybe it's to the author's credit that it doesn't matter if the reader feels this way but I suspect we're not meant to have a favourite. Or maybe we don't have to equate favouritism with 'likeability' in novels like this?


    Which character – as performed by Emily Pennant-Rea – was your favourite?

    No-one stood out for me.


    Was this a book you wanted to listen to all in one sitting?

    No. It's slow to build and tempting to hurry it along....but that would be harmful to the measured unwinding of the story. It retains plausibility, for me, because of the time it takes to tell the tale.


    Any additional comments?

    I found it a bit puzzling that the narrator didn't retain the main character's accent all the way through. Only a minor point but odd nevertheless.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.