We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.co.uk/access.
Gone Without a Trace Audiobook

Gone Without a Trace

Regular Price:£19.99
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • £7.99/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

Gone Without a Trace by Mary Torjussen is a chilling psychological thriller about a woman whose boyfriend has vanished. Fans of I Let You Go and The Girl on the Train will be gripped.

No one ever disappears completely....

You leave for work one morning. Another day in your normal life. Until you come home to discover that your boyfriend has gone. His belongings have disappeared. He hasn't been at work for weeks. It's as if he never existed. But that's not possible, is it? And if he has gone without a trace, why do you still feel that someone is watching you?

©2016 Mary Torjussen (P)2016 Headline Digital

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.2 (75 )
5 star
 (33)
4 star
 (28)
3 star
 (9)
2 star
 (3)
1 star
 (2)
Overall
4.2 (63 )
5 star
 (33)
4 star
 (16)
3 star
 (10)
2 star
 (3)
1 star
 (1)
Story
4.1 (63 )
5 star
 (31)
4 star
 (19)
3 star
 (6)
2 star
 (4)
1 star
 (3)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Jools 22/11/2016
    Jools 22/11/2016
    HELPFUL VOTES
    31
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    84
    22
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "BUNNY BOILER"

    Good read excellent narration, a book that should be read by all especially the young. Well done.

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Sue B. 18/03/2017
    Sue B. 18/03/2017 Member Since 2016
    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    3
    3
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Loved it"

    Went a bit iffy near the end but really really enjoyed it. World be fabulous as a film, unsettling

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Nicky Birmingham 02/02/2017 Member Since 2016
    HELPFUL VOTES
    7
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    16
    11
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Fantastic!"

    This book had me gripped from start to finish. The story was not what I had anticipated and was so well performed that I couldn't leave it alone.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Mrs. S. J. MacDonald Penzance, Cornwall 22/01/2017
    Mrs. S. J. MacDonald Penzance, Cornwall 22/01/2017 Member Since 2011

    Sara MacDonald

    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    3
    1
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Gone Without a Trace"

    Prepare to sit on the edge of your seat with this hypnotic thriller. I have just had a sleepless night unable to stop listening until I got to the end. Terrific plot and beautifully and believably read.
    If I have a criticism it is in the sometimes repetitive nature of some chapters. We get that she is missing Matt but labouring the point over and over gets tedious as do some of her scenes with Katie and in the office. I could not see the point of Sam who remained only a plot device. I also felt she had known Katie for so long that she would have sensed her treachery long before.
    However, as the book developed and got deeper and her childhood began to be revealed it became horribly fascinating. I won't reveal the ending but the last few chapters were a total shock.
    Hannah, and indeed all the characters, except Hannah's mother and perhaps, Mike, were unlikable. However, they were meant to be and this terrific read about delusion and betrayal is a true thriller in all senses of the word. It is very rare that I don't guess an ending and this ending was chilling.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    taurusgb 11/01/2017
    taurusgb 11/01/2017

    book lover

    HELPFUL VOTES
    2
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    7
    3
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Amazing Book - completely enthralling"

    This is very well written and has a brilliantly inventive plot with excellent characterisation. It held my attention so well that I couldn't stop listening. I finished it in a day by carrying my MP3 player and speaker EVERYWHERE I went, even shopping, when I swapped my speaker for headphones, so loath was I to switch it off. An amazing debut by Mary Torjussen and I hope very much that we don't have to wait too long for a second book.

    As to the narrator..... All I can say is - Accents! she would have done much better to have read the story straight through without trying to add merseyside accents to the characters. They were written as well educated and sharp - to hear them ALL saying "wha?" (missing t intended), in a liverpool intonation was irritating and did not fit with any of the character types. If I had written this book I would have been most upset to hear this, as I am sure it was not what the author intended.

    100% recommended!

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    P. Coleman London 27/11/2016
    P. Coleman London 27/11/2016 Member Since 2017
    HELPFUL VOTES
    19
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    11
    11
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Wow! Totally mesmerising"

    It's really hard to do this justice when I'm still recovering from so many twists and turns.

    Very likeable main character who was expertly portrayed. Possibly the best I've ever listened to and certainly the least predictable. A great antidote to the previous story I listened to.

    I actually prefer the accents to only be used when characters are speaking and not for their thoughts or the narration but I imagine everyone feels happiest listening to a voice they can relate to which for me is female southerner.

    I'll definitely be looking out for both the author and narrator in future - excellent work from both.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Ms 22/11/2016
    Ms 22/11/2016

    I did my degree in English, so now I prefer thrillers, Krimis, SciFi, and anything with vampires. Faves incl Terry Pratchett & Iain Banks.

    HELPFUL VOTES
    7
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    13
    10
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    1
    2
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "You think it's one thing, but..."

    I'm very wary of plot spoilers in thrillers and 'detective stories 'so I will be circumspect.

    Hannah comes home from a work trip to Oxford and finds her world has turned upside down. She is the detective in this story, piecing together what has happened. But all is not as it seems...

    I can't say more than that for fear of spoiling the denouement, but I can assure you that this book has a plot that will keep you on tenterhooks all the way through. It's immaculately written and paced - just when I wanted to shriek at Hannah, it moved on again and left me wanting more.

    It's twisty mind-bending stuff, and if you liked Gone Girl you'll like this.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    L. Fuchs Scottish Highlands 08/11/2016
    L. Fuchs Scottish Highlands 08/11/2016 Member Since 2017

    grandmalisa

    HELPFUL VOTES
    22
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    17
    7
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "The weirdest narration ever?"

    I am unable to get through this book because the narrator seems to think that a first person narrator thinks, writes and texts in one accent (in this case RP, Home Counties, middle class) and then speaks in a completely different accent (here it's straight out of Brookside - working-class Liverpudlian). THIS IS JUST WEIRD and renders the book un-listenable to.

    Does the actress think that those of us with regional accents think and write in a nice RP agent like hers and only resort to our regional accents when we speak? Did no-one else in the production of this book think this was plain weird?

    Unfortunately for Mary Torjussen, the book is going back.

    3 of 4 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Neen Machine 21/02/2017
    Neen Machine 21/02/2017 Member Since 2017
    HELPFUL VOTES
    5
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    31
    5
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Horrible, horrible accent!"

    The narration was so bad that it detracts from the interesting and surprising plotline, such a shame.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Crazymazy 18/02/2017
    Crazymazy 18/02/2017 Member Since 2016
    HELPFUL VOTES
    7
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    9
    9
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Mostly enjoyable "

    The beginning somewhat unrealistic and over egged, but for most part I enjoyed it. I kinda worked most of it out but enjoyed the surprises when they surfaced. The disappointed end didn't really spoil it.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.