We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.co.uk/access.
Galveston Audiobook

Galveston

Regular Price:£18.99
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • £7.99/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

From the creator of the hit HBO series True Detective comes a powerful, gleaming-dark thriller rich with Southern atmosphere.

Roy Cady is by his own admission 'a bad man'. With a snow flurry of cancer in his lungs and no one to live for, he's a walking time-bomb of violence. Following a fling with his boss' lover, he's sent on a routine assignment he knows is a death trap. Yet after a smoking spasm of violence, Roy's would-be killers are mostly dead and he is mostly alive.

Before Roy makes his getaway, he finds a beaten-up woman in the apartment, and sees something in her frightened, defiant eyes that causes a crucial decision. He takes her with him on the run from New Orleans to Galveston, Texas, permanently entwining their fate along a highway of seedy bars and fleabag hotels, a world of treacherous drifters, pick-up trucks, and ashed-out hopes, with death just a car-length behind.

Nic Pizzolatto's highly acclaimed, Edgar Award-nominated thriller announces the arrival of a major new talent for fans of Dennis Lehane, James Lee Burke, and Breaking Bad.

©2010 Nic Pizzolatto (P)2010 Tantor Media Inc.

What the Critics Say

"Galveston is an assured debut full of hard truths, a throwback novel that ends up shouldering the noir genre forward" (Chuck Hogan)

"A carefully crafted work shrouded in dark Southern landscapes" (Time Out Chicago)

"An often incandescent fever dream of low-rent, unbearable beauty , Galveston," in its authenticity and fearless humanism, recalls only the finest examples of the form" (The New York Times)

"There are resonances of the great James Lee Burke in the elegance Pizzolatto brings to his heart-wrenching story that makes it unforgettable" (Daily Mail)

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

3.9 (39 )
5 star
 (15)
4 star
 (10)
3 star
 (10)
2 star
 (3)
1 star
 (1)
Overall
3.7 (34 )
5 star
 (11)
4 star
 (10)
3 star
 (7)
2 star
 (5)
1 star
 (1)
Story
3.9 (34 )
5 star
 (12)
4 star
 (12)
3 star
 (6)
2 star
 (3)
1 star
 (1)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Judi G 04/10/2014
    Judi G 04/10/2014 Member Since 2014
    HELPFUL VOTES
    20
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    102
    31
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "very good"

    very hard core, but nothing cheezy which I really appreciated. It's a gripping story and I really enjoyed the narration.

    2 of 3 people found this review helpful
  •  
    POS County Cork, Ireland 23/01/2016
    POS County Cork, Ireland 23/01/2016 Member Since 2010

    Padraig

    HELPFUL VOTES
    7
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    50
    30
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Great Listening to"

    Michael Kramer did a very good job narrating the book. It was a great first novel for Nic Pizzolatto.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Jonathan Hagger 29/07/2015 Member Since 2010
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    78
    6
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "No Happy Ending (or beginning or middle)"

    This tightly crafted book is literary noir at its finest. The central character is a bad man through and through and yet the author, displays his considerable writing skills, by managing to elicit the reader's sympathy for the unrepentant hoodlum. There is plenty of tragedy in this book, very little redemption and no happy endings, all of which you are made fully aware of in the first few pages. This is not a thriller, a lightweight, easy read for taking to the beach. It is a serious work of fiction. If you approach it as such, you will enjoy it and it will linger in your mind for a long time to come.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    mirivi Birmingham, United Kingdom 07/07/2015
    mirivi Birmingham, United Kingdom 07/07/2015
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    7
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Disappointing"

    Very ordinary, sadly. Galveston never manages to do anything new or fresh; it just sits stolidly within the confines of crime fiction.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Ann Newcastle, England 23/06/2016
    Ann Newcastle, England 23/06/2016 Member Since 2014

    Retired Psychologist Love reading/audiobooks, travelling, animals Favourite saying The fact that you believe something does not make it true

    HELPFUL VOTES
    665
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    265
    248
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    87
    10
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Very dark, but compelling"
    Any additional comments?

    This is a good story, dark, but compelling. I mostly didn't want to put it down. The narration was good, but relentlessly gloomy and monotone. The style fitted the novel, but the it may have been five star, had there been moments of a change in tone. I look forward to more books by this author.

    0 of 1 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.