We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.co.uk/access.
Fireside Gothic Audiobook

Fireside Gothic

Regular Price:£8.49
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • £7.99/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

From the number one best-selling author of The American Boy and The Ashes of London comes a collection of three Gothic novellas - Broken Voices, The Leper House and The Scratch - perfect for fans of The Loney by Andrew Michael Hurley.

Broken Voices: Does music have its ghosts? Its victims? Something is stirring in the cathedral that both echoes an ancient tragedy and seems to offer a chance of future happiness. One thing is certain. Broken voices make false promises. And their lies may prove fatal.

The Leper House: Seawick's medieval Leper House is all that remains of the Suffolk town that was washed away to sea. A bereaved man arrives there on a stormy night and meets the mysterious woman who dwells there. In a nearby house, another woman waits for history to repeat itself. And a bell tolls once again beneath the waves.

The Scratch: Clare and Gerald live the perfect life in a remote cottage in the Forest of Dean. Cannop the cat has lived with them since they found him as a kitten deep in the Forest. But perfection is fragile, and some scratches never heal.

©2016 Andrew Taylor (P)2016 HarperCollins Publishers

What the Critics Say

Praise for The Ashes of London:
"The Ashes of London presents a breathtakingly ambitious picture of an era.... The multiple narrative strands are drawn together in a brilliantly orchestrated finale." (Financial Times)
"A complex weave of history and mystery and the first of a new series from Andrew Taylor." (The i)
"This is terrific stuff: intelligent, engrossing and, in its evocation of a long-vanished London, wonderfully plausible." (Toby Clements, Daily Telegraph)
"A pacey story.... Taylor masters the detail as well as the broader picture.... A new Shardlake may be rising from the ashes." (The Times)
"Thrilling.... Gripping, fast-moving and credible.... It's a well-constructed political thriller with moments of horror, admirable and enjoyable. Taylor has done his research so thoroughly as to be unobtrusive." (Spectator)
"The description of London in 1666, as the Great Fire is at last dying down, is unforgettable." (Literary Review)
"Finely wrought and solidly researched.... The novel's plot is fiendishly complex." (Sunday Telegraph)
"The Ashes of London is a chilling murder mystery and an equally transporting historical novel. A genuine pleasure from start to finish." (Peter Swanson, author of A Kind Worth Killing)
"This is a book to revel in, a joy and a delight. Definitely one of the must-reads of the year." (Manda Scott, best-selling author of the Boudica Dreaming series)

Praise for Andrew Taylor:
"Taylor's mastery of plot and character show to great effect in a story that has a depth few other historical crime novels can match." (Sunday Times)

Praise for The American Boy:
"A most artful and delightful book, that will both amuse and chill, and it will have you desperate to search out a quiet corner to continue your acquaintance with it." (Daily Telegraph)

Praise for The Silent Boy:
"Effortlessly authentic...gripping...moving and believable. An excellent work." (C. J. Sansom)

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

5.0 (1 )
5 star
 (1)
4 star
 (0)
3 star
 (0)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (0)
Overall
5.0 (1 )
5 star
 (1)
4 star
 (0)
3 star
 (0)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (0)
Story
5.0 (1 )
5 star
 (1)
4 star
 (0)
3 star
 (0)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (0)
Performance


There are no listener reviews for this title yet.

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.