We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.co.uk/access.
Dead Man's Curve Audiobook

Dead Man's Curve: A Cal Murphy Thriller, Book 5

Regular Price:£11.89
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • £7.99/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

Sometimes the rumors are true ....

In the hills of Kentucky, the people of Millersville lead a charmed life thanks to the city's biggest employer, Lee Creek Distilleries, and its sly CEO, Wilfred Lee. Until the one night things go sideways, and the town's favorite son, Kentucky basketball recruit Josh Hood, becomes a prime murder suspect.

When Atlanta reporter Cal Murphy and his wife, Kelly, make a stop in Millersville as a favor to a family friend to find out what's really going on, the powers that be frown on the attention. It doesn't take long before Cal and Kelly rile up the town and its corrupt law enforcement - and they find themselves fighting for their lives and livelihood in the pursuit of not only the truth but justice.

Fans of Nelson DeMille, John Sanford, Stieg Larsson, and Lee Child will enjoy this new book from best-selling author Jack Patterson.

©2014 Green E-Books (P)2015 Green E-Books

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

1.0 (1 )
5 star
 (0)
4 star
 (0)
3 star
 (0)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (1)
Overall
1.0 (1 )
5 star
 (0)
4 star
 (0)
3 star
 (0)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (1)
Story
1.0 (1 )
5 star
 (0)
4 star
 (0)
3 star
 (0)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (1)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    mollyeyre 17/05/2016
    mollyeyre 17/05/2016
    HELPFUL VOTES
    551
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    422
    376
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    14
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "5 star reviews???"

    Ye Gods - this book had so many 5 star reviews on Amazon that I thought it would be good, the synopsis peaked my interest so I thought I'd give it a try.

    I have never read such a load of dosh in my life. The writing was as if done by a teenager - everyone 'snickered' or 'giggled' or 'whimpered'. The hero 'Rubbed his stomach thinking of morning doughnuts, which were stale - but hit the spot'

    There was no development of plot - this guy just changed his mind about who he thought the murderer was, because of an anonymous phone call telling him the accused was innocent.

    At one stage a man held a room full of men at gunpoint, but took the time to read out loud a very long entry from a diary - nobody seemed to take the opportunity to overturn his power, even though he was supposedly holding them at gunpoint. The rescue was like something from a farce - absolutely hilarious. One man coming in and overpowering the guy with a gun - then another breaking in and overpowering the second man with a gun.

    The characters were not developed - barely TWO dimensional - Goodness me - I could go on and on - but will spare you any more.

    Must say - the reading was AWFUL too


    I am still really puzzled by the 5* reviews.


    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
Sort by:
  • Wayne
    Matthews, NC
    06/05/16
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Excellent suspense novel!"

    Dead Man's Curve is my first Jack Patterson novel. It is also Book 5 in the journalist Cal Murphy series. The book is about human sex slavery and basketball in Kentucky. The novel is much better than I expected. Narration is stellar.

    As I wait the summer releases form the big name espionage thriller writers I'm sampling other books. Dead Man's Curve is one of them.

    5 of 5 people found this review helpful
  • Barbara Tobey
    California
    23/07/15
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Basketball rules!"
    Would you recommend this audiobook to a friend? If so, why?

    Yes, I would recommend this audiobook to a friend. It was an interesting mystery. It keeps one guessing.


    What other book might you compare Dead Man's Curve to and why?

    Some of the books by Harlan Corbin are about basketball or have references to it. I like those books and therefore I found this book enjoyable.


    What about Bill Cooper’s performance did you like?

    Great voice and easy to understand.


    Was there a moment in the book that particularly moved you?

    Several moments were touching.


    Any additional comments?

    A little preachy and I don't mean that in a religious way. Not a problem and not wrong or offensive, just a little long.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.