We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.co.uk/access.
Dead Gone Audiobook

Dead Gone

Regular Price:£12.99
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • £7.99/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

The young girl you have found isn't the first experiment I've carried out. She won't be the last.

A tense, unpredictable crime debut that will not only have you gripped, but will chill you to the bone. Perfect for fans of Stuart MacBride and Mark Billingham.

A serial killer is stalking the streets of Liverpool, gruesomely murdering victims as part of a series of infamous, unethical and deadly psychological experiments. When it becomes apparent that each victim has ties to the City of Liverpool University, DI David Murphy and DS Laura Rossi realise they're chasing a killer unlike any they've hunted before - one who doesn't just want his victims' bodies, but wants their minds too.

With a series of psychological twists Dead Gone will keep you guessing until the very end.

©2014 Luca Veste (P)2014 HarperCollins Publishers Limited

What the Critics Say

"A chilling début from a writer to watch..." (Mark Billingham)
"A darkly impressive first novel, disturbing and intelligent." (The Times)
"Gripping, unpredictable, genuinely shocking and impossible to put down, Dead Gone is a remarkable début." (Steve Mosby)
"Tense and darkly playful, Dead Gone is a cleverly constructed début thriller that explores the twisted potential for psychological experimentation." (Chris Ewan)
"Chilling, unpredictable and compulsive, this is a thrill a page rip-roaring read - Luca Veste: a welcome new name to look out for." (lovereading.co.uk)

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

3.9 (47 )
5 star
 (18)
4 star
 (16)
3 star
 (8)
2 star
 (1)
1 star
 (4)
Overall
3.9 (45 )
5 star
 (18)
4 star
 (15)
3 star
 (5)
2 star
 (4)
1 star
 (3)
Story
3.8 (45 )
5 star
 (16)
4 star
 (16)
3 star
 (7)
2 star
 (2)
1 star
 (4)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Warren 07/02/2015
    Warren 07/02/2015
    HELPFUL VOTES
    3
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    18
    1
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "A very enjoyable read."

    An emotive story line that immediately grabs the readers attention.
    I found this book very easy to read and the story moved on quickly and I found I couldn't put it down. I loved the Liverpool link and the references to places and street names in the city.
    Jonathan Keeble gives a sterling performance despite some rocky Scouse accents..

    An very enjoyable and easy read. I look forward to more.

    3 of 3 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Flower Girl Surrey UK 17/04/2015
    Flower Girl Surrey UK 17/04/2015 Member Since 2015

    Flower Girl

    HELPFUL VOTES
    23
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    579
    15
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    1
    12
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Another Cracking Good Read From This Author!"

    Having just finished listening to this book the first thing I did was look for another ! Unfortunately so far there are only two books but I shall certainly be on the lookout for any further offerings from this talented crime writer....it also helps that he uses the brilliant Johnathan Keeble to bring life to his excellent storyline! Bravo !

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful
  •  
    M. Bland 06/02/2015
    M. Bland 06/02/2015 Member Since 2013
    HELPFUL VOTES
    8
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    26
    4
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Oh! My lord"
    Any additional comments?

    Not sure where to start but, here goes. There's a thing about rank in the police, this is an observation about a number of police procedural books, as far as I understand it police forces comprise of specialist teams lead by sergeants. Inspectors, chief inspectors and above spend the majority of their time behind desks and not chasing around solving crime which makes the partnership in this book unlikely.

    This is pretty standard fair, damaged senior cop, inexperienced side-kick. There are a growing number of victims of a serial killer who have been done to death by a build your own psychopath. There are a number of "there's something I'm missing, if only I could put my finger on that thing in the back of my mind" moments. There's a bit of a red herring going on with the boyfriend of one of the abductees that kind of fizzles out.

    The police don't realy do anything worth speaking of, always describing themselves and each other as being exhausted just before going home for a pizza while an investigation into a triple murder is mounted by about four or five individuals.

    Then there is the unspeakable Scouse accent delivered by the reader. Unspeakable.

    I listened to the end so you don't have to.

    5 of 7 people found this review helpful
  •  
    PMalin 06/02/2015
    PMalin 06/02/2015 Member Since 2013
    HELPFUL VOTES
    3
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    31
    1
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Great read"

    Brilliant book a must read.
    Narrator is really good and really describes the characters well.
    Get it and enjoy it

    3 of 4 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Ilovemydogs 13/01/2015
    Ilovemydogs 13/01/2015 Member Since 2016
    HELPFUL VOTES
    3
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    7
    2
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Addictive"

    Excellent story. Good pace. Well read. Full of twists and turns. Murphy is a believable character who creates empathy in the reader.

    3 of 4 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Mrs S M Chilton 21/06/2015 Member Since 2012
    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    3
    1
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Thoroughly enjoyable story"

    Really enjoyed this excellent book I hope there are many more to come from this author

    1 of 2 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.