We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.co.uk/access.
Cold Killing: DI Sean Corrigan, Book 1 (Unabridged) | [Luke Delaney]

Cold Killing: DI Sean Corrigan, Book 1 (Unabridged)

DI Sean Corrigan is not like other detectives. The terrible abuse he suffered in childhood hasn't stopped him enjoying family life with his wife and two daughters, or pursuing an impressive career with South London's Murder Investigation Unit. But it has left him with an uncanny ability to identify the darkness in others - a darkness he recognises still exists deep within his own psyche and battles to keep buried there. Now Sean's on the trail of the most dangerous killer he's ever encountered.
Regular Price:£13.99
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • £7.99/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Your Likes make Audible better!

'Likes' are shared on Facebook and Audible.com. We use your 'likes' to improve Audible.com for all our listeners.

You can turn off Audible.com sharing from your Account Details page.

OK

Publisher's Summary

Terrifyingly authentic, London-set debut crime novel with a psychological edge, by an ex-Met detective. Perfect for fans of Mark Billingham, Peter James and Stuart MacBride.

DI Sean Corrigan is not like other detectives. The terrible abuse he suffered in childhood hasn't stopped him enjoying family life with his wife and two daughters, or pursuing an impressive career with South London's Murder Investigation Unit. But it has left him with an uncanny ability to identify the darkness in others - a darkness he recognises still exists deep within his own psyche and battles to keep buried there. Now Sean's on the trail of the most dangerous killer he's ever encountered. The perpetrator has no recognisable MO, leaves no forensic evidence and his victims have nothing in common. But Sean knows they were all murdered by the same man. Now all he has to do is find the evidence, convince his bosses and stop the killing ... before his adversary gets too close to home...

©2013 Luke Delaney (P)2013 HarperCollins Publishers Limited

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

3.9 (44 )
5 star
 (14)
4 star
 (18)
3 star
 (8)
2 star
 (2)
1 star
 (2)
Overall
3.7 (39 )
5 star
 (10)
4 star
 (14)
3 star
 (11)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (4)
Story
4.0 (41 )
5 star
 (16)
4 star
 (13)
3 star
 (8)
2 star
 (2)
1 star
 (2)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    penny READING, United Kingdom 02/02/2014
    penny READING, United Kingdom 02/02/2014
    HELPFUL VOTES
    3
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    5
    4
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "title is an excellent description for this book"
    What made the experience of listening to Cold Killing the most enjoyable?

    Good narration. Never a full moment. Easy to visualise characters.


    What did you like best about this story?

    It's twists and turns.


    Have you listened to any of Robin Bowerman’s other performances? How does this one compare?

    No. But have just downloaded another book by same author and narrator.


    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Katharine 20/04/2013
    Katharine 20/04/2013 Member Since 2010
    HELPFUL VOTES
    45
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    78
    38
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    2
    0
    Overall
    "A good solid modern detective"

    I liked the character created in this with DI Corrigan. I also liked that other characters in the book were important too and had depth. It has a great twist in the story and the end leaves you thinking we could be hearing more from Corrigan (and maybe someone else). An enjoyable read.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    mollyeyre 29/07/2015
    mollyeyre 29/07/2015
    HELPFUL VOTES
    331
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    265
    230
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    10
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Daft plot, unbelievable behaviour"

    I really didn't like much about this book, having listened to the first chapter I nearly tossed the book as it was the meanderings of 'our killer' salivating about his kills.
    I did stick it out and was drawn into the story.
    As the story progressed I became unhappy with the characters, none at all likeable, and also with the behaviour of the police in planting evidence etc.

    The plot was plain daft - we didn't really find out 'why', and the lead detective had an awareness of the criminal mind that was ridiculous, understanding things from a scene that just HAD to be assumptions.

    Towards the end I did flip through several chapters as the drawn out saga was just too much to bear.

    There was a lot of nasty descriptive violence which wasn't necessary.

    This one is not for me at all, though I can see from the reviews that many people enjoyed it.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    caroline 03/09/2014
    caroline 03/09/2014 Member Since 2009
    HELPFUL VOTES
    62
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    42
    36
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Enjoyable but nothing like Stuart MacBride"
    Any additional comments?

    I often wonder if the people reviewing these books have ever read the books they compare them with. This is nothing like Stuart Macbride or Mark Billingham. An interesting plot, slightly contrived, but on the whole a good listen. I think the main character will develop in series, however if the next title moves to NZ, I trust audible will find a New Zealand narrator and not depend on someone trying the accents. I thought the character had landed in the outback of Australia, not in Queenstown New Zealand. A minor point perhaps. Overall an enjoyable book.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    knittyboot 16/05/2014
    knittyboot 16/05/2014 Member Since 2015
    HELPFUL VOTES
    101
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    363
    34
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    9
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Nothing like Stuart McBride novels"
    Any additional comments?

    I bought this book because it said in the publisher's review that it would appeal to readers of Stuart McBride. I feel like a total sucker! Dull, boring dialogue and thoroughly unlikable characters. Hated it

    1 of 3 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank You

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.