We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.co.uk/access.
Bitter Remedy Audiobook

Bitter Remedy: An Alec Blume Mystery, Book 5

Regular Price:£32.29
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • £7.99/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

Commissario Alec Blume, on health leave, has retreated from Rome to central Italy. At the Villa Romanelli, he enrols in a natural remedies course conducted by a young woman named Silvana. But far from recuperating, a feverish Blume becomes isolated and sluggish with sickness.

Increasingly ill at ease in the stifling environment, the dark history of the crumbling villa and its once-magnificent gardens draw him in. And when a Romanian girl who works for Silvana's fiancé, Niki, asks for his help, Blume is dragged into the shadowy case of a missing girl and the horrors of the garden's malignant beauty.

©2015 Conor Fitzgerald (P)2015 Oakhill Publishing

What the Critics Say

"Fitzgerald has created another gripping mystery featuring the irresistibly stubborn Blume.... Readers cannot help but root for him.... Fans of Donna Leon or Andrea Camilleri are bound to enjoy." (Shelf Awareness)

"Alec Blume is an inspired creation...a sly, sardonic loner who gives the impression of knowing Rome better than its natives." (The Guardian)

"[An] exciting series.... If your readers loved Michael Dibdin's Aurelio Zen series, get them started on this one." (Library Journal)

"An outstanding detective." (Publishers Weekly)

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.0 (3 )
5 star
 (0)
4 star
 (3)
3 star
 (0)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (0)
Overall
4.0 (3 )
5 star
 (0)
4 star
 (3)
3 star
 (0)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (0)
Story
4.7 (3 )
5 star
 (2)
4 star
 (1)
3 star
 (0)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (0)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Steven Harrogate, United Kingdom 26/05/2016
    Steven Harrogate, United Kingdom 26/05/2016 Member Since 2012

    Enjoy listening to crime and mystery thrillers. Favourite authors/narrators: Mankell, Nesbo, Hewson, James, Lyndsey/Reichlin & Barrett

    HELPFUL VOTES
    31
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    38
    32
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    2
    2
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Out of sorts Alec Blume sorts it!"

    Alec Blume goes for a restful retreat in a quiet italian village, well away from Rome, but is unsettled there, and ends up investigating the disappearance of a Romanian bar girl. Excellent narration and an engaging story with Blume and his issues at the centre. Well worth a listen for fans of both Conor Fitzgerald and Saul Reichlin!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.