We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.co.uk/access.
 >   > 
The Village Idiot Reviews Audiobook

The Village Idiot Reviews: The Idiot Reviews, Book 1

Regular Price:£4.99
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • £7.99/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

Join Brian, as he tries to woo the girl that works in the local shop, will passing out face down in super glue while trying to make her a gift hinder his chances of getting her to go out with him?

Will Father Frederick, an alcoholic vicar who has a slight issue with stalking be able to win back the heart of a woman he loved a long time ago?

And will Ethel, who thinks that throwing hard rice instead of confetti in a Bride Groom's face is an acceptable form of sport, be able to catch whichever one of these two losers in love with her trick as they step out of the church on the happy day?

Written entirely in the form of product reviews, we guarantee you've never read a book quite like this before. Hilarious and wholly original, The Village Idiot Reviews pokes gentle fun at the more obscure corners of your favourite e-commerce sites - and introduces the most bonkers set of countryside dwellers since The Vicar of Dibley.

©2014 Pete Sortwell (P)2014 Pete Sortwell

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.6 (51 )
5 star
 (46)
4 star
 (0)
3 star
 (0)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (5)
Overall
4.6 (51 )
5 star
 (46)
4 star
 (0)
3 star
 (0)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (5)
Story
4.6 (50 )
5 star
 (45)
4 star
 (0)
3 star
 (0)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (5)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    sxortesi switzerland 28/12/2015
    sxortesi switzerland 28/12/2015 Member Since 2011

    jackanory

    HELPFUL VOTES
    2
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    92
    6
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "idiotic humour"
    If this book wasn’t for you, who do you think might enjoy it more?

    benny hill fans


    What reaction did this book spark in you? Anger, sadness, disappointment?

    grated on my funny bone, totally did not make me laugh. toilet humour ect ect


    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
Sort by:
  • erobbins33
    19/04/15
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Hilarious!"

    I freaking love this book! I can't wait to listen to the sequel! Fans of "Brit-wit", and people who like to read reviews, will totally appreciate this compendium of reviews which, separately, are hilarious, and together, tell a story of a small village of very strange and funny people. The narrator totally nailed it. Love<3

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful
  • DK
    COLCHESTER, VT, United States
    05/09/16
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Fun Stuff...I'd Like It More If I Were British...."
    Any additional comments?

    I adore Pete Sortwell's writing. I highly recommend:
    Dating in the Dark
    and Diary of the .... Father Series.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  • Renee
    Australia
    10/05/15
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Fictitious anecdotal product reviews"

    What a unique way of telling a story! The entire story is told via short anecdotes in the form of product reviews written by various characters who live in a small village. These reviews were humorous and not always using the product in the way it was intended. I didn't like any of the characters but I found it interesting to see how all the products fit together.

    I listened to the audiobook edition which I received free in exchange for an honest review. Chris Dabbs did a fantastic job of narrating, speaking clearly and at a good pace. He used different voices for the different characters.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  • Terri
    United States
    24/04/15
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Totally hilarious!"

    This book is so funny, you will laugh your butt off or maybe fall down face first in something undesirable (lol). This book is about poking fun at village idiots. They do such dumb things it make you just want to say IDIOT!!! The funniest part to me was the penis pump, OMG and then there was the drunks. The guy who scraped his bed sheets was hilarious too.

    The author, Pete Sortwell is genius in his materials. Listening to this book is like listening to a stand up comic or at the very least, one who has been drinking (pun intended). The narrator, Chris Dabbs did a good job expressing the authors intent in the tons of laughs. If you are feeling down and need a pick me up or just want something to start a party off, this would be it!

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  • Deedra
    United States
    15/04/15
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "The Village Idiot reviews Bk 1"
    Any additional comments?

    This was a fun,fast 'read'.I liked it a lot!The narrator,Chris Dabbs was perfect for this project.I am looking forward to listening to the rest of the books by this author.I was gifted a copy for an honest review.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  • Ivan
    US
    15/08/15
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Not funny at all"

    This is probably the saddest attempt at humour I have been subjected to. A complete waste of money and time.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • KP
    28/07/15
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Laugh Out Loud! YES!"
    Any additional comments?

    Funny! when some idiots buy stuff online what happened? this story tell you all about it over a year when some villagers tried to buy things online.
    It is a light humor book!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Kirsty
    08/07/15
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "A good laugh"
    If you could sum up The Village Idiot Reviews in three words, what would they be?

    Quick, amusing, and unique.


    Any additional comments?

    I really enjoy this review format. The stories are funny and connected so it really does tell a lengthy story. I had quite a good laugh while listening to them and can't wait to hear the sequel. The narrator is also great with some brilliant accents and characterisations being used.

    I received a copy of this audiobook in exchange for an honest review.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.