We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.co.uk/access.
Tales of Survival: Caribbean Stories and Poems Audiobook

Tales of Survival: Caribbean Stories and Poems

Regular Price:£11.89
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • £7.99/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

This audiobook includes a collection of 12 stories and poems drawn from Davis Deen's Trinidadian background. The writing is warm and rich, rooted in and uttering from the Caribbean oral tradition.

This debut collection reflects the views of the ancestral storytelling spirit to change, to adapt, to grow both culturally and socially.

Fans of Lawrence Scott and Anthony Joseph will cherish this collection.

©2013 Davis Deen (P)2014 Davis Deen

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.7 (3 )
5 star
 (2)
4 star
 (1)
3 star
 (0)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (0)
Overall
4.7 (3 )
5 star
 (2)
4 star
 (1)
3 star
 (0)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (0)
Story
4.3 (3 )
5 star
 (2)
4 star
 (0)
3 star
 (1)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (0)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Aston Jones 13/04/2016
    Aston Jones 13/04/2016 Member Since 2014

    My interests are in. Personal development, public speaking , health, physical fitness, travel and healthy cultural interaction.

    ratings
    REVIEWS
    45
    8
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Still smiling."
    If you could sum up Tales of Survival: Caribbean Stories and Poems in three words, what would they be?

    Time covers all.


    Who was your favorite character and why?

    The old man.


    Which scene did you most enjoy?

    The drunks walk home


    Was this a book you wanted to listen to all in one sitting?

    Yes. had to listen as much as I could before I had to start work.


    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Miss Nadia C Gasper 12/07/2015 Member Since 2016

    I've decided to be a literary enthusiast and inspired creative who doesn't feel guilty for LISTENING to books. #ItAintCheatingIfYouLoveIt

    HELPFUL VOTES
    4
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    6
    6
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "We Need More of You"
    Where does Tales of Survival: Caribbean Stories and Poems rank among all the audiobooks you’ve listened to so far?

    The nostalgia, emotional investment, laughter and pride that came from listening to this audiobook was totally unexpected, but very much appreciated. From my desk, in a grey office, amidst the paperwork and emails, I was able to connect with my grandparents and caribbean relatives as a result of Deen's magical storytelling.


    What was one of the most memorable moments of Tales of Survival: Caribbean Stories and Poems?

    The story of Anansi was beautifully told. It was nice to relive a tale I haven't heard since I was a little girl, and it's amazing how drawn I was to the hooks, the comedy and the lesson. The 'timelessness' of it all was much appreciated.


    What about Davis Deen’s performance did you like?

    His voice is so warm and familiar; essential for this type of book.


    Did you have an emotional reaction to this book? Did it make you laugh or cry?

    I laughed...a lot...serious belly laughs!


    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.