We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.co.uk/access.
Day Four Audiobook

Day Four

Regular Price:£14.99
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • £7.99/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

AudioFile Magazine Earphones Award winner, August 2015.

Sarah Lotz's extraordinary, unmissable follow-up to the book that made headlines around the world, The Three - perfect for fans of The Shining Girls, The Passage, and Lost.

Four days into a five-day singles cruise on the Gulf of Mexico, the ageing ship Beautiful Dreamer stops dead in the water. With no electricity and no cellular signals, the passengers and crew have no way to call for help. But everyone is certain that rescue teams will come looking for them soon. All they have to do is wait.

That is until the toilets stop working, and the food begins to run out. When the body of a woman is discovered in her cabin, the passengers start to panic. There's a murderer onboard the Beautiful Dreamer...and maybe something worse.

©2015 Sarah Lotz (P)2015 Hodder & Stoughton

What the Critics Say

Praise for The Three:

"This high-concept thriller is a blast." (The Guardian)
"The Three is really wonderful...hard to put down and vastly entertaining." (Stephen King)
"Sarah Lotz is a natural born storyteller. Like the hand reaching up from the dark well, she'll drag you into her thrall. You'll come up gasping." (Lauren Beukes)

"Genuinely chilling... this is an unusual thriller superbly voiced." (AudioFile Magazine)

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

3.6 (42 )
5 star
 (12)
4 star
 (14)
3 star
 (7)
2 star
 (4)
1 star
 (5)
Overall
3.6 (37 )
5 star
 (14)
4 star
 (8)
3 star
 (7)
2 star
 (3)
1 star
 (5)
Story
3.9 (40 )
5 star
 (13)
4 star
 (14)
3 star
 (9)
2 star
 (2)
1 star
 (2)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Andrew Rochdale, United Kingdom 14/06/2016
    Andrew Rochdale, United Kingdom 14/06/2016 Member Since 2015
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    25
    6
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "great story but way to complicated at the end"

    the story draws you in and goes at a nice pace, plenty of suspense but in my opinion falls apart at the end. its as if the author was unsure how to finish and went into bizarre mode. shame because the rest of the book was exciting

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Andy Sargeant 26/09/2015
    Andy Sargeant 26/09/2015 Member Since 2015
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    25
    13
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Keep with it!"

    After reading The Three, I really wanted to find out more and so I went straight into Day Four. The problem I had was that The Three hit hard and just kept giving where Day Four does take a while to get into the story, but when it does, I think its more superior than The Three. Also, the narrator is SUPERB!! Keep with it! You'll be glad you did.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Jude 24/07/2015
    Jude 24/07/2015
    HELPFUL VOTES
    32
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    54
    5
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Let down by narration"
    Would you try another book written by Sarah Lotz or narrated by Penelope Rawlins?

    I would try another book by Sarah Lotz, but not the narrator


    How would you have changed the story to make it more enjoyable?

    I didn't finish it because of the narration


    What didn’t you like about Penelope Rawlins’s performance?

    awful accents


    What reaction did this book spark in you? Anger, sadness, disappointment?

    mainly irritation because of the narrator...I found my mind wandering because the accents were so bad.Poor narration does a disservice to the book...I think I would have stuck with it if the narration was good. As it is I'm not even halfway and am giving up and returning it.


    Any additional comments?

    stories can be brought to life with good narration, or ruined by poor narration...this was the latter

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Mrs. K. A. Skipp Kent, UK 20/07/2015
    Mrs. K. A. Skipp Kent, UK 20/07/2015 Member Since 2008
    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    233
    6
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Excellent, but very unsettling"
    Would you listen to Day Four again? Why?

    I would listen again, there is definitely a sub plot which you may not fully realise on first listen


    What other book might you compare Day Four to, and why?

    I read this immediately after her first book, and there really is no comparison, I much preferred this one.


    What does Penelope Rawlins bring to the story that you wouldn’t experience if you had only read the book?

    I found her voice easy on the ear, and the phrasing was good.


    If you made a film of this book, what would be the tag line be?

    Take a cruise for your health and travel to hell and back!!!!!!


    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Peter Morse 28/06/2015
    Peter Morse 28/06/2015 Member Since 2014
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    9
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "If only the accents had been plausible"

    A good story narrated very well. But.... The accents of some of the characters were dreadful and spoilt the production for me until they were largely dropped in the latter third of the story.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Jo leicester, United Kingdom 31/05/2015
    Jo leicester, United Kingdom 31/05/2015
    HELPFUL VOTES
    30
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    85
    26
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    1
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Intriguing!"

    I had listened to the first book and also found that to be intriguing! It's a bit like being sucked into a bad film...you know it won't end well but just have to watch!
    I'm now assuming that there will be another book which will finally explain what is going on??
    If it does all come together it would probably make a good movie but I feel like this is all taking way too long but I'm hooked now so will probably end up with the next book lol!
    The narrative was ok but some very dodgy accents!!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.